Asset-Based Learning
Asset-Based Learning views the diversity that students bring to the classroom, including culture, language, disability, socio-economic status, immigration status, and sexuality as characteristics that add value and strength to classrooms and communities. It takes into account that these characteristics are not monoliths and that students can move fluidly between groups.
Asset-Based Learning Resources
Guide to Digital Accessibility by Type: eBookISBN: 9781642674521Publication Date: 2023-02-10Addressed to higher education administrators, instructional designers, faculty developers, and faculty, this edited volume showcases the experiences and practices of Quality Matters institutions around the core tenets of digital accessibility, offering examples of policy, processes, practices, tools, and professional development.
The Undergraduate Experience by Type: eBookISBN: 9781119051190Publication Date: 2016-04-22Written by recognized experts in undergraduate education, this book encourages college and university leaders to rethink current practices that fragment the student experience, and to focus on creating powerful, integrated undergraduate learning for all students.
Fostering Sustained Student-Faculty Engagement in Undergraduate Education by Type: eBookISBN: 9781032391472Publication Date: 2024-01-01Fostering Sustained Student-Faculty Engagement in Undergraduate Education explores how student demographic and classroom modality shifts in college and university environments affect undergraduate student-faculty interactions and engagement.
Great College Teaching : Where It Happens and How to Foster It Everywhere by Type: eBookISBN: 9781682537930Publication Date: 2023Campbell draws from a multi-institutional observational study that covered more than 700 higher education courses in a range of contexts, from regional public universities to highly ranked private universities, from small liberal arts colleges to large flagship universities. She examines what each type of institution typically excels at and where they often fall short.
Diversity and Inclusion Matters by Type: eBookISBN: 9781119799542Publication Date: 2021-12-09In this book, you'll learn how to achieve early and significant wins to create the necessary and long term organizational change needed for successful DE&I programs.
Supporting Neurodiverse College Student Success by Type: eBookISBN: 9781538137383Publication Date: Nov 12, 2020Chapters cover tutoring, learning supports, academic coaching and advising, career services, residential living, and classroom experiences that impact and assist neurodiverse students.
Queer & Trans Advocacy in the Community College by Type: eBookISBN: 9781648029202Publication Date: 2022-06-08This comprehensive practitioner focused book will combine relevant research and guidance on practices to aid colleges in establishing services and programs to build effective LGBTQ+ services on their college campuses.
Community College Student Mental Health by Type: eBookISBN: 9781475860177Publication Date: 2023-09-03Explore both the professional lives of community college faculty and their experiences with and perspectives of their students, many of whom navigate mental health issues. Concludes with robust recommendations for community college leaders who are seeking ways to better support their students.
Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion in Action by Type: eBookISBN: 9780838947593Publication Date: 2020-09-02Include such topics as cultural competency training to create more welcoming instruction spaces; student workshops on literature searches that mitigate bias; a curriculum and design workshop that moved from discussing social values to embedding them in actions; a liberal arts college's retention-boosting program for first-generation students; tailoring a collection and library services to the unique needs of student veterans; and a framework for moving from diversity to equity and inclusion, toward a goal of social justice.
Strategies for Fostering Inclusive Classrooms in Higher Education by Type: eBookISBN: 9781787560611Publication Date: 2019-02-04This volume provides educators with a global understanding of the challenges associated with the growing diversity of student identities in higher education and provides evidence-based strategies for addressing the challenges associated with implementing equity and inclusion at different higher education institutions around the world.
LGBTQ Leadership in Higher Education by Type: eBookISBN: 9781421444079Publication Date: 2022-08-02In essays ranging across 12 topics, including intersectionality, mentorship, feminism, self-care, coming out, heteronormativity, and partners and spouses, the authors address why LGBTQ leadership matters at this moment, and more broadly, why diversity, inclusion, and equity in leadership are important to meet today's challenges for higher education and human rights.
Advancing Student Engagement in Higher Education : Reflection, Critique and Challenge by Type: eBookISBN: 9781000867435Publication Date: 2023-05-12Providing a selection of critical pieces on the key challenges and debates in student engagement in higher education, this edited collection of sector-leading, scholarly-informed critical reflections is designed to consider and build upon what can be done to advance student engagement.
Centers for Teaching and Learning by Type: eBookISBN: 9781421447018Publication Date: 2023-09-12An in-depth look at Centers for Teaching and Learning and their profound impact on US higher education. Drawing from this web-based methodology, as well as interviews with CTL leaders and staff, Wright provides a broad picture of educational development in the United States and examines trends in what CTLs aim to accomplish, key strategies for reaching these goals, programs and services they offer, and their impacts on campuses.
Handbook of Research on Developing a Post-Pandemic Paradigm for Virtual Technologies in Higher Education by Type: eBookISBN: 9781799869658Publication Date: 2021-06-25A comprehensive reference book that presents the testimonials of teachers and students with various degrees of experience with distance learning and their utilization of current virtual tools and applications for learning, as well as the impact of these technologies and their potential future use.
Academic Coaching by Type: eBookISBN: 9781032265711Publication Date: 2023-05-02Drawing from the principles of executive, business, and life coaching, this book explores how to support college students as they begin their journey to independence, grapple with challenging courses, uncover their life's purpose, and prepare to make their mark on the world.
Transforming Online Teaching in Higher Education by Type: eBookISBN: 9780807768648Publication Date: 2023-10-27This practical book provides an overview of essential approaches, bolstered by examples from various instructors who are teaching online courses.
Literacy Is Liberation by Type: eBookISBN: 9781416630906Publication Date: 2022-02-25Kimberly Parker's goal is to make the literacy classroom a place where students can safely talk about key issues, move to dismantle inequities, and collaborate with one another. In Literacy Is Liberation, Parker gives teachers the tools to build culturally relevant intentional literacy communities (CRILCs) with students.
Black, Brown, Bruised by Type: eAudioISBN: 9781666130454Publication Date: 01/2022Black, Brown, Bruised reveals the challenges that underrepresented racially minoritized students confront in order to succeed in these exclusive, usually all-White, academic and professional realms. The book provides searing accounts of racism inscribed on campus, in the lab, and on the job, and portrays learning and work environments as arenas rife with racial stereotyping, conscious and unconscious bias, and micro-aggressions.
The Skillful Teacher by Type: eAudioISBN: 9781515936732Publication Date: 2019-06-12Providing insights, reflections, and advice from his four decades of college teaching, Stephen Brookfield now adapts his successful methods to teaching online, working with diverse student populations, and making classrooms truly inclusive.
Teach Like a Champion 3.0 by Type: eAudioISBN: 9781666106237Publication Date: 01/2022This book teaches you how to create a positive and productive classroom that encourages student engagement, trust, respect, accountability, and excellence. In this edition, you'll find new and updated teaching techniques, the latest evidence from cognitive science and culturally responsive teaching practices, and an expanded companion video collection.
The Real World of College by Type: eAudioISBN: 9798765018651Publication Date: 04/2022Wendy Fischman and Howard Gardner's findings challenged characterizations in the media: students are not preoccupied by political correctness, free speech, or even the cost of college. They are most concerned about their GPA and their resumes; they see jobs and earning potential as more important than learning. Many face mental health challenges, fear that they don't belong, and feel a deep sense of alienation. Given this daily reality for students, has higher education lost its way?
- 8 Crucial Steps to Increase DiversityAnderson, J. (2007). 8 Crucial Steps to Increase Diversity. The Chronicle of Higher Education, 54(5). https://link-gale-com.libproxy.tstc.edu/apps/doc/A169191776/GPS?u=txshracd2801&sid=bookmark-GPS&xid=45f28e5f
- Decentering to Build Asset-Based Learning TrajectoriesEllis, A. B. (2022). Decentering to Build Asset-Based Learning Trajectories (Issue pter).
- Developing student voice for inquiry, connection and authenticity in learning communities.Whittingham, Rose. "Developing student voice for inquiry, connection and authenticity in learning communities." Literacy Learning: The Middle Years, vol. 30, no. 1, Feb. 2022, pp. 45+. https://link.gale.com/apps/doc/A692710502/PROF?u=txshracd2801&sid=bookmark-PROF&xid=cf248bd5.
- Digging into Difficult Topics: Cultivating Community within the Classroom.Englert, P., Begin, N., Bucalos, A., Wallitsch, K., Ellis, G., & Strawser, M. G. (2019). Digging into Difficult Topics: Cultivating Community within the Classroom. Journal of Faculty Development, 33(2), 25+. https://link-gale-com.libproxy.tstc.edu/apps/doc/A625235849/PROF?u=txshracd2801&sid=bookmark-PROF&xid=17c53392
- The future of service-learning and community engagement: asset-based approaches and student learning in first-year coursesBauer, T., Kniffin, L. E., & Priest, K. L. (2015). The future of service-learning and community engagement: asset-based approaches and student learning in first-year courses. Michigan Journal of Community Service Learning, 22(1), 89+. https://link-gale-com.libproxy.tstc.edu/apps/doc/A435357751/PROF?u=txshracd2801&sid=bookmark-PROF&xid=f841f4f8
- More than Mechanisms: Shifting Ideologies for Asset-Based Learning in Engineering EducationGravel, B. E., Tucker-Raymond, E., Wagh, A., Klimczak, S., & Wilson, N. (2021). More than Mechanisms: Shifting Ideologies for Asset-Based Learning in Engineering Education. Journal of Pre-College Engineering Education Research, 11(1), 276–297.
- My Name is PedroThis award-winning film, from director Lillian LaSalle, explores the seemingly impossible journey of South Bronx Latino educator, Pedro Santana, a former "special ed" student, whose mantra is - every kid can learn despite their circumstances.
- UnlikelyIn the US less than 50% of students who start college ever finish, making America’s college completion rates among the worst in the world. Now there are more than 35 million Americans who started college but never finished, leaving them saddled with debt, and behind their peers in earning power. Featuring interviews with LeBron James, Howard Schultz, and our nation's leading voices in education, this penetrating and personal new film investigates America’s college dropout crisis through the lives of five diverse students as they fight for a second chance at opportunity and highlights the innovators reimagining higher education for the 21st century.
- How can we improve the quality of higher education?By welcoming various intrepid thoughts, we welcome learning.
- Gender Revolution: A Journey with Katie CouricGender Revolution: A Journey with Katie Couric. Katie Couric sets out to explore the rapidly evolving complexities of gender identity.
- America to Me - Episode 1 - What's the Big Deal About Oak Park?America to Me focuses on a year at Chicago’s Oak Park and River Forest High School (OPRFHS), widely considered to be a safe, well-integrated, academically strong school. In Episode 1, we meet some of its students of color and their families, who have sacrificed to live in this popular district. Their stories begin to reveal the racial cracks and realities of the permanence of racism.
- America to Me - Episode 2 - Stranger in a RoomAs we meet more students at Oak Park and River Forest High School (OPRFHS), we start to see where the students of color are able to live as their authentic selves, and where they’re just surviving. Extracurricular activities like Spoken Word Club offer safe, validating spaces for students like Charles and Chanti to explore their racial identities. Yet students like Ke’Shawn and Terrence are left searching.
- America to Me - Episode 3 - There Is No Pain That Compares to the StruggleBy Episode 3, the racial cracks at Oak Park and River Forest High School (OPRFHS) are becoming more apparent, as are the complexities of Oak Park’s racialized relationships. Terrence’s relationship with his mother, Jada’s and Charles’s interactions with their physics teacher, and teacher Jessica Stovall’s experiences with her family and work all illustrate the diversity of racial relationships and their power to impact identity, self-image, and success.
- America to Me - Episode 4 - There's Nothing Funny About Race!Episode 4 offers a vivid example of the impact of agency. When an individual feels a sense of agency - like Ke’Shawn in his theater class - they feel like they have control over their choices and actions, and the ability to advocate for themselves. Agency impacts our self-image, our sense of belonging and contribution, and our ability to succeed. So when Ke’Shawn’s agency is taken away by school’s security, it impacts much more than just his ability to participate.
- America to Me - Episode 5 - I Don't Have to Think About Being WhiteIn Episode 5, we meet a new group of white students at Oak Park and River Forest High School (OPRFHS), whose experiences contrast with those of the school’s students of color. One key area of difference involves academic expectations - what is expected of the white students academically as opposed to the students of color, and the influence that those high or low expectations have on the students’ placement (Honors Track, College Prep, etc.), teacher attention, student motivation, and academic success.
- America to Me - Episode 6 - Listen to the Poem!By spring semester in Episode 6, the students of color at Oak Park and River Forest High School (OPRFHS) encounter a fresh set of opportunities and obstacles along their paths to developing their racial identities. Kendale achieves a big goal, while Tiara’s dreams are dashed. Charles’s voice is validated with a team victory, but Jada’s attempt to express her voice through film is challenged for being too provocative.
- America to Me - Episode 7 - Tsunami of PrivilegeIn Episode 7, the students at Oak Park and River Forest High School (OPRFHS) experience a series of thrilling victories (Kendale’s overtime win and Charles’s rise in spoken word) and crushing blows (Terrence’s graduation news and Ke’Shawn’s home situation). As they fight to achieve the “American dream,” we begin to see the white cultural origins of that dream and how it impacts everyone’s lives at OPRFHS.
- America to Me - Episode 8 - Nobody Can Hold You DownIdentities, both authentic and assumed, play a strong role in Episode 8, as we see the students, teachers, and families of Oak Park and River Forest High School (OPRFHS) navigating multiple identities and finding the need to code switch in order to fit in and achieve recognition at the school.
- America to Me - Episode 9 - The Invisible T-ShirtBy Episode 9, Chanti and Caroline experience fatigue as women of color, as does teacher Jessica Stovall as she continues to engage the administration in piloting an equity program that benefits all faculty and students. Both students of color like Tiara and white students like Brendan continue to spiral from emotional and physical fatigue as they navigate their experience at Oak Park and River Forest High School (OPRFHS).
- America to Me - Episode 10 - America Will Be...In the final episode of America to Me, we witness the resilience of the students and teachers of Oak Park and River Forest High School (OPRFHS) in their quest to find agency, racial identity validation, and community. Their stories demonstrate that individual steps towards equity are important, but it takes everyone working together to create long-lasting, systemic change. Transformation is a collective action that requires intentional commitment and involvement to make the necessary systemic changes. No one can opt out.
- Do I Sound Gay?A look at the stereotype of the "gay voice" examines its connotations in modern society.