Islam, a major world religion, founded in Arabia and based on the teachings of Muhammad, who is called the Prophet. Although exact statistics are not available, the Muslim world population is estimated at about 1.75 billion. Islam has flourished in diverse climatic, cultural, and ethnic regions. It has begun to grow rapidly in the U.S. The major groups composing the world community of Islam include the Arabs (North Africa and the Middle East); sub-Saharan Africans (from Senegal to Somalia); Turks and Turkic peoples (Turkey and Central Asia); Iranians; Afghans; the Indo-Muslims (Pakistan, India, and Bangladesh); Southeast Asians (Malaysia, Indonesia, and the Philippines); and a small percentage of Chinese. In Europe, Islam is the second largest religion after Christianity. ¹
Databases contain large amounts of data including (but not limited to) statistics, bibliographic information, images and abstracts.
Bibliographic databases are a useful tool for finding scholarly literature in your subject area. This includes (but is not limited to) journal articles, conference proceedings and eBooks. They are very useful to consult when carrying out your own research because:
Bibliographic databases are helpful when you want to start exploring beyond your reading list or are researching a new topic.
On this page you will find recommended databases and guidance on how to search for and access databases.
TSTC subscribes to lots of databases you can use for free. Check out the A-Z listing of all of the databases the TSTC LRC subscribes to.
¹ Islam. (2018). Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia, 1;
