Hinduism is a major world religion, not merely by virtue of its many followers (estimated at about 1 billion) but also because of its profound influence on many other religions during its long, unbroken history, beginning about 1500 bc. The corresponding influence of these various religions on Hinduism (it has an extraordinary tendency to absorb foreign elements) has greatly contributed to the religion’s syncretism—the wide variety of beliefs and practices that it encompasses. Moreover, the geographic, rather than ideological, basis of the religion (the fact that it consists of whatever all the people of India have believed and done) has given Hinduism the character of a social and doctrinal system that extends to every aspect of human life.¹
Databases contain large amounts of data including (but not limited to) statistics, bibliographic information, images and abstracts.
Bibliographic databases are a useful tool for finding scholarly literature in your subject area. This includes (but is not limited to) journal articles, conference proceedings and eBooks. They are very useful to consult when carrying out your own research because:
Bibliographic databases are helpful when you want to start exploring beyond your reading list or are researching a new topic.
On this page you will find recommended databases and guidance on how to search for and access databases.
TSTC subscribes to lots of databases you can use for free. Check out the A-Z listing of all of the databases the TSTC LRC subscribes to.
¹Hinduism. (2018). Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia, 1;