Christianity, the most widely distributed religion in the world, having substantial representation on all of the populated continents of the globe and a total membership of about 2.5 billion people. A community, a way of life, a system of belief, a liturgical observance, a tradition—Christianity is all of these, and more. Each of these aspects of Christianity has affinities with other faiths, but each also bears unmistakable marks of its Christian origins. Thus, it is helpful, in fact unavoidable, to examine Christian ideas and institutions comparatively, by relating them to those of other religions, but equally important to look for those features that are uniquely Christian. ¹
Databases contain large amounts of data including (but not limited to) statistics, bibliographic information, images and abstracts.
Bibliographic databases are a useful tool for finding scholarly literature in your subject area. This includes (but is not limited to) journal articles, conference proceedings and eBooks. They are very useful to consult when carrying out your own research because:
Bibliographic databases are helpful when you want to start exploring beyond your reading list or are researching a new topic.
On this page you will find recommended databases and guidance on how to search for and access databases.
TSTC subscribes to lots of databases you can use for free. Check out the A-Z listing of all of the databases the TSTC LRC subscribes to.
¹ Christianity. (2022). Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia, 1;
