PHIL 1304: Introduction to World Religions

Buddhism

Buddhism is one of the world’s major religions. It was founded in India about 500 B.C., or shortly afterward, by a teacher called the Buddha. At various times, Buddhism has been a dominant religious, cultural, and social force in most of Asia. Today, Buddhism has about 350 million followers. Most live in Tibet and other regions of China, and in Japan, the Korean Peninsula, Sri Lanka, and mainland Southeast Asia.¹

Databases & Journals

What are databases?

Databases contain large amounts of data including (but not limited to) statistics, bibliographic information, images and abstracts.

Bibliographic databases are a useful tool for finding scholarly literature in your subject area. This includes (but is not limited to) journal articles, conference proceedings and eBooks. They are very useful to consult when carrying out your own research because:

  • they provide powerful search functionality
  • have citation tools
  • have thesauri
  • their content is selected by experts in your subject

Bibliographic databases are helpful when you want to start exploring beyond your reading list or are researching a new topic.

On this page you will find recommended databases and guidance on how to search for and access databases.

 

How to access

TSTC subscribes to lots of databases you can use for free. Check out the A-Z listing of all of the databases the TSTC LRC subscribes to.

 

Databases

References

¹ Buddhism. (2018). Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia, 1;