Information Literacy

Specialty Databases/eResources

Specialty Databases/eResources for automotive students

Database Links


More Information

A collection of Automotive eResources, such as Auto Repair Source and Chilton that include step-by-step auto repair information, diagrams, maintenance schedules, parts, and labor estimates, service bulletins and recalls.

Auto Repair Source Database

Provides the most accurate, authoritative and up-to-date service and repair information for thousands of domestic and imported vehicles. All content comes from the Original Equipment Manufacturers (OEM) and includes step-by-step repair information, diagrams, maintenance schedules, parts and labor estimates, service bulletins, recalls, and more.  Designed for touch-enabled devices such as laptops and tablets.  Diagrams and images can be easily magnified and printed.

 

The continually updated resource offers vehicle manual and diagnostic information, including the following features:

  • Service information optimized for the most common maintenance and repair operations
  • Technical service bulletins and recall notices
  • Component location diagrams for most domestic and imported cars and light trucks
  • Precise and comprehensive wiring diagrams for all systems
  • Maintenance schedules and estimated labor times for the most commonly performed operations in a mechanical repair shop
  • Engineering specifications/standards for the most common repairs and adjustments
  • Diagnostic Trouble Codes (DTCs), flowcharts and step-by-step diagnostic instructions covering powertrain, chassis, body, and network communicationt
  • Part numbers, diagrams and pricing for thousands of the most commonly replaced parts, including manufacturer-suggested retail price to help users validate the cost of repair
Gale - Chilton Library Database

ChiltonLibrary provides access to repair, maintenance, and service information on most cars, trucks, vans, and SUVs on the road today.

 

The continually updated resource offers vehicle manual and diagnostic information, including the following features:

  • Out-of-the-library mobile access whenever and wherever users need it
  • Factory-tested service, repair, and replacement information from the original equipment manufacturers (OEMs)
  • VIN Decoder, which allows a user to submit their vehicle identification number (VIN) and gather valuable information for a car, truck, van, or SUV
  • More than 2,500 easy-to-access videos and animations, organized by vehicle systems and subject matter
  • Diagnostic and troubleshooting information
  • Wiring and vacuum diagrams and detailed schematics
  • Manufacturer-recommended maintenance intervals
  • Technical service bulletins and recalls
  • Warranty and Chilton Labor Estimating Tool for common vehicle repair procedures
  • Automotive Service Excellence (ASE) technician test-prep quizzes to assess a user’s technical knowledge

Do you have NCLEX testing materials?

Resource Links


More Information

Career Center Plus Database

Career Center Plus offers practice exams, eBooks, and flashcards for the NCLEX-RN, NCLEX-PN, and Nursing Assistant/Nurse Aide certification.

The library also has several NCLEX practice test eBooks. Please see the list of these books here.

What study resources are available for college entrance exams?

Resource Links


Exam Prep Resources

TSIA2 & CLEP

TSIA2 Test Prep: A general overview and test prep study materials for the TSIA2.

Adult Core Skills Center: Lessons and practice tips for Developmental Math, Algebra, Geometry, Calculus, Statistics, Reading Comprehension, Vocab, Spelling, Writing, Chemistry, Biology, Physics, and General Science. Also has TSI and CLEP test preparation exams for general education courses.

TOEFL & IELTS

College Admissions Test Preparation Center: ACT, SAT, PSAT/NMSQT, AP, TOEFL iBT, IELTS practice tests, eBooks, and flashcards. Also includes resources on basic grammar and writing personal essays.

Nursing - TEAS

TEAS Study Guide: study guides on reading, math, science, and English.

ESL/ENL - El examen de ciudadanía y GED® estadounidense

Recursos para hispanohablantes: Herramientas de aprendizaje, carrera y ciudadanía en español. Mejorar la escritura , gramática, lectura y habilidades matemáticas. Tomar exámenes de práctica para el examen de ciudadanía y GED® estadounidense.

What study resources are available for professional certification or licensing exams?

Database Links


Exam Access Details

Nursing - NCLEX and Nursing Assistance/Nurse Aide

The library's Career Preparation Center offers practice exams, eBooks, and flashcards for the NCLEX-RN, NCLEX-PN, and Nursing Assistant/Nurse Aide certification.

The library also has several NCLEX practice test ebooks. Please see the list of these books here.

Automotive - ASE 

Gale Chilton Library: Provides quick online access to repair, maintenance and service information on popular cars, trucks, vans and SUVs. This product contains more than 50 years of information provided in step-by-step procedures, and offers test prep resources. 

College Center Plus

Includes certification/licensing exam prep materials for:

  • Air Traffic Controller
    • AT-SAT
  • Dental Assisting
  • Medical Assistant
    • Cerified
    • Registered
  • Occupational Therapy Assistant
    • COTA
  • Pharmacy Tech
    • ExCPT
    • PTCE
  • Physician Assistant
    • PANCE
  • Physical Therapist Assistant
  • Radiologic Technologist
  • Respiratory Therapist
    • TMC
  • Social Worker
    • ASWB
  • Surgical Technologist
  • Commercial Driver's License (CDL)
  • Hospitality
    • Culinary Arts
    • ServSafe Food Handler
  • Electrician
    • Journeyman
  • Plumbing
  • Emergency Medical Services
    • EMT
    • Paramedic
  • Nursing
    • Nursing Assistant/Nurse Aide
    • NCLEX-RN
    • NCLEX-PN
  • Teaching
    • ParaPro
    • Praxis Core
    • Praxis Subject
    • NES Essential Academic Skills
    • Texas TExES

What resources does the library have for job or interview preparation research?

Access Links


More Information

If you would like personalized assistance, please contact Career Services.

 

The library has several resources focused on job preparation resources, including resume templates and interview skills.

Specialty Databases/eResources FAQs