Career Descriptions & Wages

On this guide

Welcome!  This guide is designed to help you with skills to help you find your next job.  You will find tips, tutorials, and templates for resumes, cover letters, and letters of interest.  You'll also find some good tips and practice for interviews.

Preparing your application

This section includes resources on effective word choice for job search documents, tailoring your documents for specific employers, how to conduct research on your potential employers, and job skills checklists. 

Job search

Information on how to read and understand job ads, and information to help you tailor your resume and cover letters.

Cover letters

What's the differences between a primary and secondary source? Are all journals scholarly? What is grey literature???? Not all sources are the same and your instructor may have strict requirements on what you can and cannot use.

Resumes

Covers what to include on your resume, including education, employment history, and expertise in relation to specific job postings to which you are applying. 

Reference lists

Guides and examples of how to list your references. 

Interview skills

Includes common questions asked by employers, interview tips, and resources.

Recommended resources

  • Academic eBook Collection

    This multidisciplinary collection includes thousands of e-books covering a large selection of academic subjects including: Business & economics, Education, Language arts & disciplines, Political science, Religion, Literary criticism, Medical, Social Science, Philosophy, Technology & engineering, and World history.

  • Academic Video Online

    80,000+ streaming video titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.

  • Boundless

    The library’s curated collection of eBooks and digital audiobooks. Search, browse, and discover content that you need to thrive in your courses and beyond.

  • Career Center Plus Best Bet

    Combines everything you need for a successful job search into one easy-to-use online application. Detailed information on over 1,000 different occupations, workplace soft skills tutorials, resume and cover letter templates and advice.  Includes certification/licensing exam prep materials for: Air Traffic Controller, Dental Assisting, Medical Assistant, Occupational Therapy Assistant, Pharmacy Tech, Physician Assistant, Physical Therapist Assistant, Radiologic Technologist, Respiratory Therapist, Social Worker, Surgical Technologist, Veterinary Tech, Commercial Driver's License (CDL), Culinary Arts, Food Handler, Electrician, Plumbing, EMT, Paramedic, Firefighter, Nursing Assistant/Nurse Aide, NCLEX-RN, NCLEX-PN, ParaPro, Praxis Core, Praxis Subject, NES Essential Academic Skills, and Texas TExES.

  • eBook Collection on EBSCOhost
    Best Bet

    This eBook collection includes titles from the world's leading business, technology, trade, reference, academic, and scholarly publishers.

  • Leadership and Management
    Best Bet

    Provides access to authoritative periodical content covering topics such as 21st-century skills, organizational dynamics and leadership, adult learning and continuing education, and more. Updated daily, this library resource is useful for researchers or any professional interested in career development.

  • Learning Express Library

    Your hub for the LearningExpress Library. Includes links to all LearningExpress Library sections.  Find practice tests, tutorials, eBooks, flashcards and more that help support your education and future career.

  • My Next Move

    Discover the career that matches your interests and skills.

  • O*NET OnLine

    O*NET OnLine (Occupational Information Network) is administered and sponsored by the US Department of Labor's Employment and Training Administration.

  • Occupational Outlook Handbook

    The Occupational Outlook Handbook is a nationally recognized source of career information, designed to provide valuable assistance to individuals making decisions about their future work lives. The Handbook is revised every two years.