Library News - Faculty Edition

You may have noticed that the database page has been overhauled!  The redesign as done after a platform update which gives the page brand new features and customization options.  After carefully reviewing dozens of current college and university libraries, noting what worked and (more importantly) what didn't!  We reviewed current general trends in web design, user experience best practices, and reviewed our own analytics to make decisions about the general look and feel as well as the structure to the faculty page.  The page is designed with the desktop/laptop user in mind since almost 84% of our current visitors use these devices, but the site is fully responsive and will also work well on tablets and phones.

A-Z Databases

Our databases page has been updated to the newest version with some key upgrades.  

1. New top banner to allow users easy access to commonly used library pages.
2. An active hours widget lets users know when library assistance is actively available and includes links to 
   1. Library chat 
   2. Book a Librarian
3. Announcements to keep users informed on database changes.
4. Users are now able to narrow down databases based on 
   1. Database title or keyword search
   2. program/subject of interest
   3. the type of resource they are looking for
   4. vendor
5. Not sure where to start?  The library's recommended databases page will offer some great jumping off points.

Welcome to the new faculty site for the TSTC Library News.  

This post serves as a brief guide to where to find useful information that is relevant to you.  If you have comments, questions, or suggestions about the new site, please send an email to asklibrary@tstc.edu.

Faculty Page

To help you find resources that are relevant to your needs, the faculty page saw a complete overhaul.  Focusing on categories that mattered most based on feedback, you can find the following:

• Classroom Support: Connecting faculty to the range of TSTC library services available including library instruction, collection development, embedded librarianship, course eReserves, custom guides, and support linking to library resources.
• Reference services: Providing information and guidance to faculty on resources, including management of resource budgets and subscriptions.
• Professional Development: Materials to help you keep pace with changes occurring in higher education and continue to meet college goals for university success.
• Start your search: Search the library's robust collection of digital materials and platforms for your own research and to help foster student learning.
• Library resources: The library resources guide can help quickly locate materials based on their type.  
• Tutorials: 
• Contact: Meeting with librarians regularly to ensure that the library services is meeting you and your student's expectations.