Library News - Faculty Edition - Library Guides at Texas State Technical College

Welcome to the new faculty site for the TSTC Library News.

This post serves as a brief guide to where to find useful information that is relevant to you. If you have comments, questions, or suggestions about the new site, please send an email to asklibrary@tstc.edu.

Faculty Page

To help you find resources that are relevant to your needs, the faculty page saw a complete overhaul. Focusing on categories that mattered most based on feedback, you can find the following:

Classroom Support: Connecting faculty to the range of TSTC library services available including library instruction, collection development, embedded librarianship, course eReserves, custom guides, and support linking to library resources.
Reference services: Providing information and guidance to faculty on resources, including management of resource budgets and subscriptions.
Professional Development: Materials to help you keep pace with changes occurring in higher education and continue to meet college goals for university success.
Start your search: Search the library's robust collection of digital materials and platforms for your own research and to help foster student learning.
Library resources: The library resources guide can help quickly locate materials based on their type.
Tutorials:
Contact: Meeting with librarians regularly to ensure that the library services is meeting you and your student's expectations.

Recent Posts

Exploring O'Reilly for Higher Education: A powerful resource for faculty

Are you looking for high-quality, up-to-date materials to enhance your teaching? We're excited to announce access to a trial of O'Reilly for Higher Education, a comprehensive digital platform offering a wealth of content designed for academic success. This trial will end February 21st. Below we'll highlight its key features and suggest how you can integrate these resources into your curriculum. What is O'Reilly for Higher Education?O'Reilly for Higher Education is a robust digital database that goes beyond traditional eBook offerings. It delivers: eBooks and Journals on topics like programming, data science, business, and engineering.Video Tutorials and Expert-Led Courses featuring leading professionals in their fields.Interactive Learning Tools (like live coding environments) to help students apply concepts directly in a hands-on manners.Career Development Resources on professional topics like leadership, project managements, and more.All content is automatically updated to align with the latest industry trends, ensuring you and your students have access to the most current information.Key Features & BenefitsExtensive CatalogWith thousands of titles and videos covering subjects from emerging technology to soft skills. O'Reilly for Higher Education caters to a wide range of disciplines and interests. Interactive Learning ExperiencesRather than passively reading, students can engage with interactive labs (for coding, data analysis, and more) that bring learning to life. This hands-on approach can significantly boost retention and comprehension.Mobile-Friendly InterfaceThe platform is designed for ease of use on any device, enabling students to learn on their schedules--whether on campus, at home, or on the go.Personalized Learning PathsO'Reilly allows users to set personal learning goals and follow recommended pathways. Faculty can direct students to specific resources that align with course objectives or career aspirations. Synchronized UpdatesNo more outdated editions--resources on O'Reilly are constantly reviewed, updated, and expanded, ensuring you're teaching the latest material.Incorporating O'Reilly into the ClassroomSupplemental ReadingAssign chapters from cutting-edge books or articles in O'Reilly to complement your lecture materials.Use real-world case studies to spark class discussions and deepen understanding.Video Based LearningEmbed relevant tutorials or expert talks into Canvas to give students a multimedia learning experience.Encourage students to explore video courses that align with specific course modules or topics.Project-Based AssignmentsHave students work through interactive labs for hands-on practice.Design class projects around real-world data science or coding examples available on O'Reilly. Professional Skills DevelopmentAssign short videos or readings on topics like leadership, project management, or teamwork to round out students' soft skills.Encourage students to explore industry trends in fields they're passionate about.Flipped Classroom Model Assign Short reading and video modules for homework so class time can focus on discussion, problem-solving, or more advanced analysis. How to Get StartedAccess the Trial: Visit tstc.libguides.com/oreilly to explore O'Reilly for Higher Education.Request a Vendor Walkthrough: If you'd like a guided tour of the platform's features, let us know--our team can arrange a vendor-led session for you and your department.Share Your Feedback: We value your input and will be sending out a feedback form toward the end of the trial. Your insights whelp us determine whether O'Reilly aligns with TSTC's long-term needs.Questions or Comments?Feel free to reach out to Library Staff at asklibrary@tstc.edu. We're here to help you make the most of this trial and to discuss any ideas you may have for integrating O'Reilly into your coursework.Take advantage of this trial to see how O'Reilly for Higher Education can enhance your teaching strategies and support student success--happy exploring!...

True lies - How the library can help build Information Literacy Skills

48% of TikTok users ages 18 to 29 use the platform to keep up with politics or political issues. In fact, 41% of TikTok users use the site as a reason they use the platform in general. While misinformation and malinformation are rampant on social media, TikTok has seen a surge in recent years which can have real and devastating effects when gone unchecked. By encouraging students to develop Information literacy skills, you are not only giving them the tools to question suspect information, you are also supplying them with desirable workplace skills such as critical thinking, analytical processing, and problem-solving abilities. More than just buzzwords, these abilities show potential employers that graduates are able to process information instead of accepting it at face value. Combating Information Literacy BottlenecksBottlenecks are where some students in a course may struggle, get stuck, be unable to complete required tasks, or move forward in their learning (Decoding the Disciplines; Middendorf & Baer, 2019). Information literacy cannot be taught in a single instruction session or even a single course. Instead, it develops throughout a student's academic career. No instructor is expected to incorporate all the core information literacy concepts or address every potential learning bottleneck in a single course. However, there are many small steps that you can take to support students' developing information literacy. The following approaches provide an overview of some helpful strategies that you can use to help your students overcome information literacy-related learning bottlenecks. Clarifying Expectations for Research AssignmentsReflectList all of the steps that students will need to take to complete the assignment. This can help you to identify steps that may be challenging for students but you may have initially overlooked because of your own familiarity with the research process.Identify the core concepts, such as Research as Inquiry or Searching as Strategic Exploration, that may be behind your expectations for the assignment.Question your purpose for including certain requirements, such as requiring a specific citation style or that students use specific types of sources. What are your requirements contributing to student learning in the course?ActDiscuss the purpose of academic research and the goals of your specific research assignment with students.Define any academic jargon (such as "scholarly" or "citation") and your action words (analyze, trace, illustrate).Clarify the distinctions between different types of research or inquiry-based assignments, such as the difference between a compare/contrast paper and an annotated bibliography.Describe the types of sources that you consider to be appropriate or inappropriate for the assignment and explain why.Be sure that any requirements you have for sources align with the purpose and context of the assignment. For example, be careful not to expect students to use scholarly sources for topics where scholarly research may not exist. Also, do not expect students to use sources that are behind paywalls or are out of date.Provide step-by-step instructions and model the steps of the research process.Scaffold large research assignments by breaking them down into more manageable chunks and providing feedback after each part.Have a colleague or student review your assignment instructions, note anything that seems unclear, and highlight any jargon that may need to be explained. This can be even more helpful if it is a colleague outside of your discipline.Sample ActivityHave students complete a quick activity in which they analyze the assignment instructions. Have them:Summarize what they must do Identify any unclear termsHighlight key requirementsDiscuss their responses together to identify any initial misconceptions about the purpose or process for the assignment Teaching Information SearchingReflectQuestion the assumptions that you may be making about students' pre-existing skills and knowledge related to the search process, especially in areas such as:The difference between a search engine and a database, and when it is appropriate to use one or the otherThe databases or search tools that are most commonly used in the disciplineHow to create an effective search statement or use databases options and limiters (advanced search, Boolean operators); how to revise a search when neededActRecommend specific search tools. With so many tools available, including hundreds of research databases available through University Libraries, students may need guidance for where to go to start their search.Recommend that students use the Subject Guides available through University Libraries to identify relevant search tools and resources.Provide analogies or examples to help students enhance their understanding of the search process (Middendorf & Baer, 2019).Model the search process by showing how you would go about searching for information on a topic or question relevant to the course.Build reflection on or discussion of the search process into the assignment.Sample ActivityAs part of a research assignment, have students complete an outline or screencast video in which they describe or demonstrate how they would go about searching for information on their topic and use the results to guide a discussion of effective search strategies.For an example of how you can address bottlenecks related to information searching, see Middendorf, J., & Baer, A., (2019). Bottlenecks of Information Literacy. Teaching Source EvaluationReflectIdentify the core concepts, such as Authority is Constructed and Contextual or Information Creation as a Process, that may be contributing to challenges students experience when evaluating informationQuestion the assumptions that you may be making about students pre-existing knowledge or skills, especially in areas such as:The various factors that contribute to, or temper, source authority or credibility (many students have erroneously been taught to use surface factors, such as domain name or the look of the site, to make decisions about source credibility)How to differentiate between types (e.g. news articles, websites, scholarly journal articles, social media sources) and categories (scholarly, professional, popular) of information sources The role context plays in determining the authority neededThe types of information sources that are considered authoritative or credible in your fieldConsider why you might require specific types of sources. If students can or cannot use specific sources types, is there a clear reason why?ActClearly outline your expectations for appropriate sources for your assignments and explain your reasons for these requirementsClarify the distinction between terms such as credible, relevant, and scholarlyModel the process that you take to determine whether or not you find a source to be credible and appropriateProvide evaluation criteria and outline steps that students can take or questions they need to consider as part of the source evaluation processAvoid teaching students to rely on surface-level cues to determine credibility, such as: The domain name (.com, .edu)The professionalism of the siteThe information provided in the About Us pageEncourage students to consider factors such as the authority of the author or publisher, motivation for publishing the source, relevance of the source to the research question or topic, and the appropriateness of the source for the contextEncourage your students to practice lateral reading, where they read across multiple sites as part of the source evaluation process—for example, searching for the author or publisher or site sponsor via a search engine to learn more about them rather than remaining on the same site. For more information, see What Reading Laterally Means (Caulfield, 2017).Sample ActivityAfter receiving instructions for a research assignment, have students work together to develop class guidelines for evaluating sources, with recommendations for the types of sources that would or would not be considered appropriate to useOther resources to support lateral reading include:Teaching Lateral Reading (Civic Online Reasoning)Evaluating Online Sources: A Toolkit (Baer & Kipnis, Rowan University)Lateral Reading (University of Louisville Libraries) Strategies for Teaching Ethical Information UseReflectIdentify the core concepts, such as Information Has Value or Scholarship as Conversation, that may be contributing to challenges students experience when using information ethicallyQuestion the assumptions that you may be making about students pre-existing knowledge or skills, especially in areas such as:The expectations for when and why attribution is required in academic researchThe expectations for attribution in your discipline or fieldLocating the information needed to include in a citationReading a citation to identify relevant informationThe distinctions between plagiarism and copyright infringementConsider your purpose for requiring a specific citation style. While there can be good reasons for insisting on specific styles, doing so can also create an unnecessary burden, especially for students outside of your discipline.ActIdentify the key aspect(s) of the citation process that you want to emphasize when it comes to grading (i.e. is it more important that students have the citation format perfect, or that they are using their sources effectively?)Provide resources, such as TSTC's Citation Guide, to help students develop their citation skills, especially if requiring a discipline-specific citation stylePractice "reading" citations with your students—many students may struggle to identify the different parts of a citationTeach students to use sources/citations to locate additional citations (forward and backward citation tracing)Talk with your students about the ways that scholars and researchers use sources and citations to document and engage with the conversation(s) on their topic and establish their own credibility. Emphasize citation as part of the process of engaging in scholarly and professional conversations.Sample ActivityProvide students with a relevant sample article from which all citations have been removed or redacted. Discuss how the lack of citations contributes to their ability to evaluate the article's credibility and use the article effectively to answer a question or learn more about the topic....

Reflecting on the Semester: Trends in Library Services

As we wrap up another semester, it's essential to take a moment to reflect on our achievements in Library Services and to share our vision for the future. This semester has been marked by significant engagement and utilization of our resources, which underscores the growing importance of the library in supporting the TSTC community.Semester SuccessesIncreased Library UsageWe've seen a remarkable increase in library usage this semester, with overall resource access rising by 25% compared to last year. This includes:eBook Downloads: A 40% increase in eBook downloads indicates that students are embracing digital resources for their coursework and research.Database Access: Our databases, including Gale Academic OneFile and ProQuest's SciTech Premium Collection, saw a 30% rise in usage. This trend reflects students' commitment to leveraging high-quality academic resources. Research Consultations: One-on-one research consultations increased by 50%, highlighting students' proactive approach to seeking assistance with their research projects.Successful Initiatives Several initiatives launched this semester have contributed to these positive trends:Target Outreach: Out outreach efforts, including creating a faculty specific blog and revamping our social media pages, effectively raised awareness about library resources and services available to the TSTC community.Faculty Focus: Using feedback from previous surveys, we reworked the faculty services page to give you a clearer view of what is available to you as a faculty member. Plans for the FutureData-Driven Decision MakingMoving forward, we plan to continue expanding services based on YOUR feedback to better meet the needs of our community. Some of our goals include:New Authentication Methods: We will be implementing a new authentication process that allows the library to make decisions on library offerings based on usage.You Said, We Did: We will be providing a statewide focus for our You Said, We Did reports, providing feedback based on data beyond our annual survey.Improved IntroductionsFaculty Welcome Page: Produce a welcome page for new or returning faculty to provide a quick overview of library resources, services, and staff. Thank you!This semester has been a great start to the year and we are looking forward to building on that momentum next semester. By focusing on data-driven decision making and enhancing the library's presence, we aim to further support our students and faculty far into the future.Thank you for your continued partnership in fostering a vibrant academic environment. We look forward to another successful semester ahead! If you have any suggestions or ideas for how we can better serve you and your students, please don't hesitate to reach out. ...

Information Literacy in the Workplace

In today's ever-evolving job market, information literacy has become a cornerstone of success. A growing number of employers, even in the traditionally hands-on tech trade, are requiring these skills from recent graduates. As TSTC continues to push for excellence, it is crucial to emphasize how these skills not only enhance academic performance but also translate directly into valuable workplace competencies. What is Information Literacy?Information literacy is the ability to recognize when information is needed and locate, evaluate, and effectively use that information. In trade professions, this translate to being able to access technical manuals, interpret data, and stay current with industry standards. Example Uses in Traditional Skilled Trade JobsAutomotive TechnologyIn automotive fields, technicians must often consult repair manuals, diagnostic software, and online databases to troubleshoot issues. Information literacy allows them to efficiently locate relevant information, assess its credibility, and apply it in real-world situations. For example, understanding how to use automotive tools like Auto Repair Source can enhance a technician's abilities to quickly diagnose complex vehicle problems quickly.WeldingWelders must stay updated on safety protocols and materials. Information literacy enables them to read and understand technical specs, safety guidelines, and industry standards. Being able to source reliable information helps them make informed decisions about the equipment and techniques they use, ultimately enhancing their productivity and safety on the job.NursingIn nursing, information literacy is critical for patient care. Nurses need to access medical literature, treatment guidelines, and patient records efficiently. The ability to evaluate the quality of medical information directly impacts patient outcomes. With the ever-changing landscape of healthcare, nurses who can quickly find and apply knowledge are invaluable assets to their teams.MechatronicsMechatronics professionals work at the intersection of mechanical, electronic, and computer engineering. As technology evolves, they must keep up with new programming, software tools, and machinery. Information literacy skills allow them to navigate complex technical documents and access online training, thereby staying competitive in a rapidly changing field. Enhancing Information Literacy in StudentsAs educators, there is a unique opportunity to cultivate these essential skills in our students. Here are some strategies to promote information literacy in the classroom:Incorporate Research Projects: Assign projects that require students to find, evaluate, and utilize various types of information.Teach Critical Thinking: Encourage students to question the credibility of sources to consider the relevance of the information they find.Utilize Library Resources: Introduce students to library databases and tools that can aid their research and information-gathering processes. Finding MoreThe library is here to support you in incorporating and reinforcing information literacy skills in the classroom. We can collaborate with you to develop tailored resources and instructional sessions that align with your curriculum. Whether through workshops on effective research techniques, creating customized guides to relevant databases, or integrating information literacy into existing assignments, our goal is to enhance your students' learning experience.We encourage you to reach out for partnerships that can help instill these vital skills in your students, ensuring they are well-prepared for their careers. Together, we can empower them to navigate the complexities of the modern workplace with confidence....

Welcome Faculty!

Leave a comment