Library News - Employee Edition

Introduction to Libby 
The free Libby app is the easiest way to get started with eBooks and audiobooks from TSTC Library Services. All you need to do is download the app and sign into our library using your TSTC OneID to begin browsing the digital collection. 

Getting Started 
Getting started is easy! Just follow these simple instructions: 

1. Install the Libby app from the app store on your Android or iOS device. 
2. In Libby, follow the prompts to find Texas State Technical College and sign in with your TSTC OneID. 
3. Browse the digital collection and borrow a title. 

What you'll need: 
What do you need to enjoy free instant access to digital eBooks and audiobooks? 

• Your TSTC OneID 
• Internet Access 
• A smartphone, tablet, or eReader (Kindle, Nook, etc) 
• The free Libby app, which can be downloaded for free from your device's app store 

Borrowing Privileges: 

• Titles are automatically returned at the end of the lending period. No late fees!   /li>
• Check out up to 3 titles at a time. 
• Borrow titles for up to 21 days. 
• You can place a hold on 10 titles at a time. 

Quick Tips: 

If a title is not available, you can place a hold. 

• After you place a hold, view your spot in line by going to your Shelf, tapping Holds, then tapping Wait List. 

You can view your place in line for a hold. 

• After you place a hold, go to Shelf > Holds and tap the calendar icon. You'll see your approximate wait time, the number of copies in use, and the number of people waiting. 

You can save time by saving your preferences. 

• Tap Preferences at the top of your library's home screen, or at the top of any list. Adjust your filters and default sorting option. Tap Apply Preferences. 

You can explore more book recommendations. 

• Tap Explore at the top of your library's home screen to discover your next great read. Search by subject, popularity, what's available, and more. 

You can add more than one library card. 

• Tap the Libby icon in the top right corner, then tap Add a Library. You can search by name of zip code. 

Need Additional Help? 
There is an in-app support feature to help answer frequently asked questions. 

Visit: https://help.libbyapp.com/

You may have noticed that the database page has been overhauled!  The redesign as done after a platform update which gives the page brand new features and customization options.  After carefully reviewing dozens of current college and university libraries, noting what worked and (more importantly) what didn't!  We reviewed current general trends in web design, user experience best practices, and reviewed our own analytics to make decisions about the general look and feel as well as the structure to the faculty page.  The page is designed with the desktop/laptop user in mind since almost 84% of our current visitors use these devices, but the site is fully responsive and will also work well on tablets and phones.

A-Z Databases

Our databases page has been updated to the newest version with some key upgrades.  

1. New top banner to allow users easy access to commonly used library pages.
2. An active hours widget lets users know when library assistance is actively available and includes links to 
   1. Library chat 
   2. Book a Librarian
3. Announcements to keep users informed on database changes.
4. Users are now able to narrow down databases based on 
   1. Database title or keyword search
   2. program/subject of interest
   3. the type of resource they are looking for
   4. vendor
5. Not sure where to start?  The library's recommended databases page will offer some great jumping off points.