Nursing

The homepage for the CDC, a federal agency that conducts and supports health promotion, prevention, and preparedness activities in the United States, with the goal of improving overall public health.

Information for allied health students across Texas. This site offers public health and safety information for all Texans.

The FDA is responsible for protecting the public health by assuring the safety, efficacy, and security of food, drugs and products.

HHS is the managing sponsor for this site, which concentrates solely on various flu pandemics and information.

Healthy People 2020 challenges individuals, communities and professionals to take specific steps to ensure that good health, as well as long life, are enjoyed by all.

A wide range of public health services exists under the HHS roof.

NIH is an agency of the HHS and is the primary agency of the United States government responsible for biomedical and health-related research.

Nutrition.gov provides easy access to vetted food and nutrition information from across the federal government. It serves as a gateway to reliable information on nutrition, healthy eating, physical activity, and food safety for consumers.

“Provides accurate and independent information on more than 24,000 prescription drugs, over-the-counter medicines and natural products.” --From the Mission Statement

Offers information on dosage, generic, and veterinary drugs. Includes a utility that identifies pills by size, color, and imprint.

Lists information on medications by brand and generic drug names, offers details on supplements, includes pill and symptom identifiers.

A directory of nursing schools. The site has a nursing job board listing of nursing jobs in 70 specialties in more than 600 US cities. Nurses and nursing students will also find career resources, study tools and continuing education units (CEUs) listings.

One of 12 Federal government agencies within the Department of Health and Human Services that supports evidence base research that helps people make more informed decisions and improves the quality, safety, efficiency, and effectiveness of health care services.

AHRQ provides, through the National Guideline Clearinghouse (NGC) database, guidelines for clinical practice, information for continuing education, employment opportunities and grants.

The Federal Government’s lead agency for scientific research on the diverse medical and health care systems, practices, and products that are not generally considered part of conventional medicine. Provides information about job openings, training, continuing education, grants and funding.

Biomedical library that delivers trillions bytes of data to millions of users every day. This government site is open to all and has many services and resources such as books, journals, manuscripts, audiovisuals, and other forms of medical information.

The Board: protects the public from unsafe nursing practice, provides approval for more than 200 nursing education programs, issues licenses to more than 27,000 nurses per year by examination to new graduates and by endorsement to licensees from other states seeking a Texas license, as well as providing nursing practice and education guidance to more than 350,000 currently licensed nurses practicing in the State of Texas.

The World Health Organization is the organization responsible for directing and coordinating matters having to do with health in the United Nations. WHO also guides health researchers, decides norms and standards, and provides leadership on other global health issues.

A general website in bioethics maintained by the editorial staff of The American Journal of Bioethics. In addition to the journal, the site publishes information on events, job opportunities and news in the field of bioethics.

An international free journal that takes a practical approach to the complex subject of nursing ethics and relates each topic to the working environment.

OSHA 3110/8 pgs.

OSHA 3249/100 pgs.

OSHA 3317/24 pgs.

OSHA 3187

OSHA 3328/100 pgs.

Get ready for your CNA test using the same kind of questions you’ll be answering when you take the real written examination.

Practice for your NCLEX-RN test using the same kind of questions you’ll be answering on the actual written examination.

This tutorial teaches you about medical words. You'll learn how parts of medical words are put together. You'll also find quizzes to check what you've learned.

The American Journal of Preventative Medicine publishes articles focused on prevention research, teaching, practice, and policy.

One of the oldest publications of its kind, the Annals of the New York Academy of Sciences is a review article journal that covers myriad specialized areas of health and science.

The Annual Review of Public Health has covered significant advancements in the field of public health since 1980.

The Bulletin of the World Health Organization is an international Public Health journal with the majority of its attention focused on the health situations of developing countries.

Merck Manuals provide information on medical topics, symptoms, drugs, procedures, news and more. They are the product of a collaboration between hundreds of medical experts worldwide, an independent editorial board of peer reviewers, and our editorial staff of physicians and professional medical writers.

A general website that provides health information for the whole family. This website of the American Academy of Family Physicians (AAFP), a national medical organization representing more than 110,600 family physicians, family practice residents and medical students provides information on diseases and conditions by name, age and symptom.

Resources on a wide range of health topics selected from approximately 1,400 government and non-profit organizations where you can search or browse topics from A to Z