A database is where you find ebooks and articles from journals, magazines, trade publications, and newspapers. Each database contains thousands of sources published in many different journals, allowing you find relevant articles faster than you would by searching individual journals.
TSTC Library Services subscribes to a large number of databases which are not otherwise freely available online. You can browse an alphabetical list or filter by program/subject, resource type, or the vendor.
Terms you may encounter in your research
Database: A searchable platform that contains descriptive records of articles, books, conference proceedings, audio-visual material, maps, newspapers, and more.
Full-text: This means you can read the item in full from beginning to end, not just the abstract or summary.
Peer Reviewed: Also, Scholarly Source. Peer review is the evaluation of work by one or more people with similar competencies as the producers of the work. It functions as a form of self-regulation by qualified members of a profession within the relevant field.
The focus of Health Research Premium Collection is to serve a diverse audience of students, researchers, medical professionals, hospital administrators, patients and their families with the latest health care information from a broad collection of journals, evidence-based resources, and full-text dissertations.
Provides access to authoritative content including full-text titles cited in CINAHL supporting specialized care, treatment, and patient management. This essential resource is versatile and features highlighting and note-taking tools as well as an intuitive interface, providing multiple pathways to key information. Updated daily, this resource will help nursing professionals already working in the field, as well as students pursuing a nursing-focused curriculum.
Supports students, instructors, researchers, and nurses around the world with its diverse mix of scholarly literature, clinical training videos, reference materials, and evidence-based resources, including dissertations and systematic reviews.
Combines everything you need for a successful job search into one easy-to-use online application. Detailed information on over 1,000 different occupations, workplace soft skills tutorials, resume and cover letter templates and advice. Includes certification/licensing exam prep materials for: Air Traffic Controller, Dental Assisting, Medical Assistant, Occupational Therapy Assistant, Pharmacy Tech, Physician Assistant, Physical Therapist Assistant, Radiologic Technologist, Respiratory Therapist, Social Worker, Surgical Technologist, Veterinary Tech, Commercial Driver's License (CDL), Culinary Arts, Food Handler, Electrician, Plumbing, EMT, Paramedic, Firefighter, Nursing Assistant/Nurse Aide, NCLEX-RN, NCLEX-PN, ParaPro, Praxis Core, Praxis Subject, NES Essential Academic Skills, and Texas TExES.
A robust resource containing the entire MEDLINE database. This provides a gateway for the comprehensive subject coverage required by academic and hospital library users.
This multidisciplinary collection includes thousands of e-books covering a large selection of academic subjects including: Business & economics, Education, Language arts & disciplines, Political science, Religion, Literary criticism, Medical, Social Science, Philosophy, Technology & engineering, and World history.
80,000+ streaming video titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.
Contain clinical mental health demonstrations, video of real clinical mental health sessions, largest amount of DSM-5®/ICD-10 video content, documentaries on the human condition, psychotherapy transcripts, client narratives, reference works, clinical mental health textbooks and workbooks, psychological experiments and more.
The library’s curated collection of eBooks and digital audiobooks. Search, browse, and discover content that you need to thrive in your courses and beyond.
This database includes journals and magazines covering an enormous range of health subjects, from sports injuries to women's health, from food and nutrition to midwifery, from eye care to dentistry.
Offers comprehensive coverage of issues that influence women’s lives across the globe. Gale OneFile: Contemporary Women's Issues provides access to current full text and pertinent backfile content covering topics including civil rights, health, education, professional development, and entrepreneurship.
Ebook Central provides authoritative, full-text eBooks in a wide range of subject areas along with powerful tools to find, use, and manage the information. Subjects include: Business & economics; Computers & IT; Education; Engineering & technology; History & political science; Humanities, Interdisciplinary & area studies; Language, literature & linguistics; Law, international relations & public policy; Life sciences; Medical; Nursing & allied health; Physical sciences; Psychology & social work; Religion, philosophy & classics; and Sociology & anthropology.
Our largest general-interest periodical resource, General OneFile allows researchers to find the information they want quickly. With intuitive searching that mirrors Internet searches, users can easily tap into sources that are guaranteed for quality. Most content in Gale General OneFile is full-text with no embargo and recommended by Bowker's Magazines for Libraries.
Gale Health and Wellness offers 24/7 access to full-text medical journals, magazines, reference works, multimedia, and much more. Perfect for researchers at all levels, this comprehensive consumer health resource provides authoritative information on the full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative medical practices.
Spans the fields of biology, chemistry, physics, earth and environmental science, health and medicine, and math and technology. Go beyond research projects and choose from over 350 experiments in 200 entries to assign during everyday instruction, enabling hands-on learning anywhere students have online access.
Get face to face with 360 models. Contains authoritative, high-quality digital content paired with interactive 3D models. Over 200 interactive sessions and 60 models to print with a 3D printer. Covers biology, chemistry, earth science, and human anatomy with relevant content from other resources.
A comprehensive medical information resource providing full-text journal content, reference eBooks, and evidence-based resources, including dissertations and systematic reviews.
Created specifically for students, knowledgeable consumer health researchers, and health care professionals, this resource is the perfect resource for up-to-date information on the complete range of health care topics. With more than 2,500 embargo-free, full-text periodicals, reference books, pamphlets, and hundreds of videos demonstrating medical procedures and live surgeries.
Ideal for researchers studying health administration. It provides the most reliable and relevant information on a range of topics, including hospitals, insurance, law, statistics, business management, ethics, and public health administration.
By combining scholarship and primary sources on one platform, JSTOR strengthens the depth and quality of research, sparks innovative connections, and generates unexpected discoveries. Contains more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
The Natural Science Collection includes the Agricultural & Environmental Science Database, the Biological Science Database, and the Earth, Atmospheric & Aquatic Science Database. It provides full-text titles from around the world including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications, and more.
Nursing Education Perspectives, the official publication of the National League for Nursing, provides a forum for the exchange of information and ideas regarding nursing education, faculty issues, and the design, implementation, and evaluation of innovative programs. Its mission is to promote the mission of the NLN and serve as a means by which the organization can advance quality nursing education that prepares the nursing workforce to meet the needs of diverse populations in an ever-changing health care environment.
Gale OneFile: Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine provides access to academic journals and magazines covering the fields of physical therapy, physical fitness, and sports medicine. The database offers a wide spectrum of information, including proven treatment techniques, experimental research, and more.
The ideal starting point for public health information for researchers and professionals. Delivers core public health literature from thousands of publications, much of it in full text. With journals, dissertations, videos, news, trade publications, reports, and more, the database covers a wide variety of disciplines ranging from social sciences to business to biological sciences.
