What is an Annotated Bibliography?

An annotated bibliography is a short summary or abstract of sources you are thinking of using for a paper. Think of it as a works cited page but each citation includes a summary of the material and critical comments.  These critical comments can be supported by comparison to other vetted sources of information.

Annotations generally include:

• a description of the content and its focus
• an evaulation of the source's method, conclusions, and reliablity
• an assesment of the source's usefulness to your paper or project
• a record of your reactions to the source

Sample Annotated Bibliographies

Writing a Book Report

• Include the bibliographic information 
• Introduce the book
• State the book's pupose
• Summarize the book
• State information about the author's credibilty 
• Place the book in historical context
• Note the book's potential sginificance
• Provide specific examples about what makes the book unique 
• Give an overall evaluation
• Note any weakness or omissions by the author
• Include if you would recommend the book and who you would recommend it to
• If you do not recommend the book, explain why and offer another title as a replacement
• Restate your overall impression

Sample Book Report

What is an Abstract?

An abstract is a brief summary which contains the argument and all of the essential information of a paper.  It allows readers to survey the contents of a paper quickly and decide whether to read the full text.  Unlike summaries or annotated bilbilographies, abstracts are short, concise, and dense with information while still being readable and well-organized.  Abstracts are generally 100-250 words.

Writing an Abstract

Step 1 - Reread the work you are abstracting

• Make notes as you go for purpose, methods, scope, results, conclusions, and recommendations

Step 2 - Write a rough draft

• Don't focus on word count or formatting just yet.  Focus on making sure the necessary content is included.

Step 3 - Revise the rough draft

• Refine organization and coherence
• Remove unnecessary information
• Add important information originally omitted
• Eliminate wordiness
• Correct grammar and sentence structure

Step 4 - Proofread 

• Read your final draft one final time for small errors.

Abstract Dos and Don'ts

Dos 

• Use the same langauge as the paper
• Only include information that acutally appears in the paper
• Reflects the purpose and content of the paper
• Make each sentence as informative as possible, especially the first sentence
• Include only the most imprtant concepts, finding, and conclusions

Don'ts

• Copy sentences directly from the work
• Summarize information in a new way
• Use acryonyms, abbreviations, and other jargon without defining them
• Include references (unless it is to a source whose theory, method, or measure is being used)
• Include sentences that contain no real information (Use strategies are disucussed)

Sample Abstract

Featured eBooks

Go to A-Z Databases: eBooks to search for more eBooks. You will need to log in with your TSTC OneID username and password to access the titles.

Still having problems?  Contact your local librarian for personalized help.

Featured eBooks

Go to A-Z Databases: eBooks to search for more eBooks. You will need to log in with your TSTC OneID username and password to access the titles.

Still having problems?  Contact your local librarian for personalized help.

Featured eBooks

Go to A-Z Databases: eBooks to search for more eBooks. You will need to log in with your TSTC OneID username and password to access the titles.

Still having problems?  Contact your local librarian for personalized help.

Featured eBooks

Go to A-Z Databases: eBooks to search for more eBooks. You will need to log in with your TSTC OneID username and password to access the titles.

Still having problems?  Contact your local librarian for personalized help.