To browse:

1. Look for the Browse section on the homepage.
2. Choose a category of interest.
3. Use sorting options to refine results.

The Browse feature allows you to explore documents by category:

• Airworthiness Directives (ADs): Contains FAA-mandated safety requirements for aircraft, engines, propellers, and other components.
• Regulations: Includes the complete set of FAA regulations, primarily from Title 14 of the Code of Federal Regulations (CFR).
• Regulation Related Documents and Reports:Provides supporting materials, interpretations, and compliance reports related to FAA regulations.
• Civil Aeronautics Manuals: Contains historical and foundational aviation regulatory documents used int he development of FAA regulations.
• Advisory Circulars:Offers guidance materials that clarify regulations, operational procedures, and best practices in aviation.
• Order 8900.1, Flight Standards Information Management System: Houses policies and procedures governing flight standards and operational oversight.
• Other Orders, Notices, Technical Standard Orders (TSO), Handbooks, Bulletins and Manuals: Includes various FAA publications on standards, operational procedures, and regulatory enforcement. 
• Policy Statements, Memos and Deviations: Features FAA policy clarifications, regulatory interpretations, and approved deviations from standard rules.
• MMELs and AED Guidance Documents: Provides Master Minimum Equipment Lists (MMELs) and Aircraft Evaluation Division (AED) guidance for aircraft certification and operation.
• Safety Assurance System (SAS): Contains documents related to FAA's oversight system for ensuring compliance with safety regulations.
• Design and Production Approvals:Provides records of FAA certifications for aircraft design, manufacturing, and production approvals.
• Airline Safety Alerts: Includes FAA-issued safety alerts for operators (SAFOs) and information bulletins concerning aviation safety concerns.
• Commercial Space (AST): Covers regulations and guidance for commercial space transportation, including launch and reentry licensing.
• Flight Standards Administrative Information: Contains internal FAA administrative documents related to flight standards oversight and processes.
• Air Traffic Organization (ATO): Includes policies, procedures, and operational guidance for the FAA's Air Traffic Control (ATC) services.
• Aviation Safety Draft Documents Open for Comments: Lists proposed FAA regulatory changes and draft guidance documents available for public review and comment.
• Advisory and Rulemaking Committees: Provides information on FAA advisory and rulemaking committees, including meeting records and recommendations.
• Other Documents:A collection of miscellaneous regulatory and guidance documents that do not fall into the other specific categories.

Browse is a way to find information in DRS by using the document tree to filter information by the document type.

Let’s look at another example of browsing and the filter results. Begin by typing “tc” in the Browse window. You can type part of the term in the window, such as “tc,” and then select the filter “Type Certificate Data Sheets (TCDS).”

There are 10 filters available when browsing Type Certificate Data Sheets (TCDS). The filters are interconnected, and the selection of one filter affects other filter options, based on the data available.

The filters that are available depend on the document type.

For example, if no other filter is selected, you will find quite a few options available in the Product Subtype drop-down.

However, if you want to research TCDS by the Product Type “Propeller,” the available options in the Product Subtype filter will be affected

By choosing “Propeller” in the Product Type filter, the options the Product Subtype filter may change.

In this example, no options appear in the Product Subtype filter. This is because the filters are interconnected. Choosing “Propeller” in the Product Type filter affects the options available in the Product Subtype filter.