TSTC Library News

Get into gear with a reliable do-it-yourself auto repair resource

Your library provides free access to Auto Repair Source, an authoritative and easy-to-use auto service and repair reference tool. All content comes from the Original Equipment Manufacturers (OEM), and you can use it to help you diagnose, repair and maintain your car, truck or SUV. You can also take this valuable resource on the road — it’s designed for devices such as laptops and tablets!

Powered by the auto experts at MOTOR, Auto Repair Source includes:

• Service information optimized for the most common maintenance and repair operations
• Maintenance schedules and estimated labor times
• Technical service bulletins and recall notices
• Component location diagrams for most domestic and imported cars and light trucks
• Precise and comprehensive wiring diagrams for all systems
• Part numbers, diagrams and retail pricing for thousands of commonly replaced parts
• Engineering specifications for common repairs and adjustments
• Diagnostic Trouble Codes (DTCs), flowcharts and step-by-step diagnostic instructions

What is Chilton Library?

Chilton Library is an online resource that provides access to automotive repair and maintenance information.  It is a rich repository of up-to-date data, technical service bulletins, wiring diagrams, and more, covering a wide range of vehicles from various manufacturers.  Whether you're studying to be a professional mechanic or an every day car enthusiast, Chilton Library offers indispensable resources to anyone seeking to understand, repair, or maintain automobiles.

Why Should You Use This eResource?

1. Reliable and Authoritative Information: Chilton has a long-standing reputation for being a trusted source of automotive repair information.  This eResource contains maintenance and specification tables that provide the unique data you need for each 
2. Comprehensive Coverage: Chilton Library encompasses a vast array of vehicle makes and models, ensuring that you can find information on most vehicles on the road today.  From older classics to the latest models, Chilton Library has it covered.  
3. User-Friendly Interface: This eResource is designed to be user-friendly, making it accessible to even those who may not be tech-savvy.  You can easily navigate through Chilton Library to find the information you need, including video, photographs, and illustrations next to step-by-step instructions.  
4. Time and Money Saver: With Chilton Library, you can avoid unnecessary trips to auto repair shops for minor issues.  By having access to step-by-step repair instructions, you can save time and money by attempting to repair it yourself.
5. Educational Opportunities: Chilton Library offers a wealth of educational opportunities for students interested in learning about automotive mechanics.  From understanding engine components to diagnosing problems, you can expand your knowledge through this eResource. 
6. Professional Benefits: Students in automotive programs will benefit from the ASE Test Prep quizzes for the most popular certification exams, step-by-step service and repair procedures, and labor estimating tool to help you confidently determine your next move.  

How To Access Chilton Library

1. Visit the TSTC Library's A-Z Database page at: tstc.libguides.com/az.php
2. Look for Gale: Chilton Library
3. Sign in with your TSTC OneID

Looking for a way to finish your research faster AND get better results?  This short video will show you how to find online articles with EBSCO databases for your papers and projects. Includes information on using advanced search techniques, saving articles to folders, and finding auto generated citations.

Its been shown that access to the library increases your chance of success.  No, really!  Using library materials (books, eBooks, databases) and attending library instruction courses can help you get higher grades and are more likely to finish your degree.  

The new goods is that its easier than ever to access library resources, even if you are a remote student.  Visit our Remote Page for quick access to LRC resources you can use from home.  Looking for help using those resources?  Visit our Staff Page to contact your local librarian for help via chat, call, or an online meeting. 

Remember, we at the LRC want to help you success and care about your progress.  Always feel free to reach out for help.

Look, we get it.  You've spent a lot of time putting together your powerpoint or writing your paper.  You are just ready for the process to be over.  You have other stuff to do, other classes to study for, sleep to get, and work to do.  But before you save that document and turn it in, remember that you need to cite your sources.  This is a vital step and can make a big difference in your grade.

Need help getting started on citing sources for your projects and papers?  Look no further than our citation guide for example citations, sample papers, and advice on how to cite in-text.

Looking for more help?  No worries!  Your friendly library staff is always available to help you when it comes to formatting and citing sources.  Reach out at any time for help!

Why Cite?

It gives proper credit to the work's creator.

So when you do research, its important to remember that everything you are reading is written by a real person.  This person may have spent years of their lives researching one specific topic in such detail that it provides you with the support you need for your project.  So lets say you are doing some research on the placebo effect and you stumble across this 10 year trial that has great information you want to use.  But take a minute to think about that.   A ten year trial.  Think That means that someone dedicated 10 years of their life to this one project and that 10 years resulted in this one paper.  For all that effort, you want to make sure that the author is credited for the 10 years they devoted to the research that helps you prove your point. 

It enables the researcher to find the work cited in order to verify the accuracy and interpretation of what is quoted or referred to.

Some people are more credible about topics than others.  You wouldn't trust your doctor to replace your water pump.  You wouldn't trust your mechanic to remove your gallbladder.  When you cite yoursources, the name of whoever wrote what you are quoting from goes first.  Its a big statement that says "This is a person that I trust to have accurate information."  It allows your instructor and anyone else that reads your paper know that you have enough knowledge on the subject to know who is worth listening to.  

It is a check on the false attribution and misleading use of information.

"Well I read online that-" "I saw this show once-"  "This email was looked over by an attorney-"  See a trend?  None of these statements can be verified.  Where online?  What was the show?  Who is this mysterous attorney?  Usually when you hear someone start a conversation this way, you know to be careful because what they are saying may not be 100% accurate (if accurate at all).  The common thread here is that you can't actually fact check anything they are saying because they don't provide enough details.  Citation allows anyone reading your paper or project to know who wrote it, where it was published, when it was published, and who it was published by.  By providing this info, you are again showing the quality of the source and your judgement.

It allows YOUR ideas to stand out clearly in the text.  

The point of your coursework is to show your instructor how well you understand the subject.  And while using expert opinions and information is a great way to support your arguments, its important that your ideas and comprehension shine through.  By citing your sources, you are showing your instructor that you put the time and energy into researching the topic and now you are able to form your own opinions.  Research is a conversation and most issues have multiple sides.  Did these two well respected authors opinions differ? So why did you choose to quote one author over another?  By citing other people's opinions, you are able to clearly use them as support or a springboard to refute their claims.  This allows your instructor to see your understanding of the material which always means better grades.

It helps reduce the possibility of plagiarism as you have clearly stated the sources for your information and ideas.

You didn't think you'd get through a list about citation without hearing about plagiarism did you?  Plagiarism is a big deal.  Its a form of fraud and can get you in serious trouble. For TSTC, its an ethical issue and can affect your academic career and professional reputation.  Don't risk your future by trying to pass someone else's work off as your own.

It improves your grade.

Take a look at your assignment.  Chances are, your instructor has some requirements for the resources you can use.  For some it may just be a number: "Use no less than 3 sources".  For others it may be quality: "All sources must be peer reviewed".  And for a few it can be a date range: "Sources must be published within two years of today's date."  The easiest way to prove all of these is in your works cited/bibliography.  By including these details, your instructor can easily check these items off the grading rubric and move on to the content of your paper. Citing your sources can often be the easiest points you get on a paper.  So go through the little extra time it takes to include them and it can make a big difference on the final outcome.

The Learning Resource Center (LRC) is available remotely to all TSTC students on and off campus.  Some locations may be open face to face with limited hours so be sure to check with your local campus for details.   The LRC is here to assist with educational and professional development by providing access to services and resources including: 

• Library Services for Remote Learning

• Email, Chat, and phone based reference

• Electronic databases

• Research Guides 

• Student Services and Resources Guide

 Your TSTC WebAdvisor or ID login information may be required to access remote resources. For more information and assistance, please reach out to your local library staff on Monday-Friday from 8:00 a.m. to 5 p.m., or visit the TSTC LibGuides and/or the TSTC LRC Portal Page. 

Why should you use the LRC?

• Librarians will save you time with  your research and help you meet your instructor’s expectations.

• It’s a good place to meet socially and for group projects.

• We have resources that are tailored to your needs to help you quickly find what you need.

What can I do at the LRC?

• Check out technical or leisure books, ebooks, and DVDs.

• Use the study rooms for study sessions or group projects.

• Access computers, scanners, and printing services.

Important Resources

• Email, Chat, and phone based reference

• Electronic databases

• Research Guides 

• Library Catalog

  • Books, eBooks, newspapers, magazines, journals, and special collections

  • Multimedia resources [DVD, CDs, Audiobooks, etc.]

• Texshare cards

• TSTC LRC Bookshare

• LRC computers and printers for on-campus use

Detailed highlights for the 2020 fall semester:

One-on-one research consultations

Not sure where to get started on research?  Never used a database before?  Never written a research paper before? No worries!  LRC staff are available to meet in person, answer questions via email, or through the telephone. 

Acquisitions

Need books or other library materials for your research? Please contact your librarian with your request!  The library will try to obtain all requested titles that support programs, within the available budget.  Please keep in mind that resources such as databases or periodicals will require ongoing funding and will be considered on a case by case basis.  

Citation, Research, and Writing Guides

These guides are built to help students properly research, write, and cite papers which can help them do better in their coursework. 

• For Citation Visit: http://tstc.libguides.com/citation
• For Research Visit: http://tstc.libguides.com/search
• For Writing Visit: http://tstc.libguides.com/writing

Database Listing

Visit: http://tstc.libguides.com/az.php for an A-Z listing for links to all databases and eResources that the LRC subscribes to.

Student Resources

Visit: http://tstc.libguides.com/student to see an overview of what the LRC can do to help you with your information needs!

For more information and access assistance, please reach out to your local library staff during library hours or visit the TSTC Libguides or the TSTC LRC Portal Page available 24/7. 

With all of the information out there surrounding COVID-19, it can be difficult sorting through everything to find what you need. The TSTC LRCs have put together a guide with easy sections and links to find what you are looking for regarding this pandemic.

Government Websites

This section focuses on information and updates from the Center of Disease Control and any information regarding government assistance.

Public Health and Safety

For information on the virus itself, how it is transmitted, symptoms, and details on the importance of personal protection like masks.

Student Resources

Focused on issues impacting students, including links on how financial aid is being impacted, free resources available online, and tips for transitioning to online learning.

Faculty Resources

This section has links that might help TSTC faculty transitioning to online teaching.

About COVID-19

Research is ongoing and ever changing, and this section provides tools to find articles from scholarly, trusted sources on information about the coronavirus.

Laws and Legislation

Direct links to proposed laws and laws that have passed regarding COVID-19.

Today we're looking at Auto Repair Source.

For those in a hurry, the quick info:

• Why search here?
  • Auto Repair Source provides service and repair information for thousands of domestic and imported vehicles.
• What’s included?
  • Content includes step-by-step repair information, diagrams, maintenance schedules, parts, and labor estimates, service bulletins and recalls

Auto Repair Source is your source for the most current, accurate, authoritative auto service and repair Information.  All content comes from the Original Equipment Manufacturers (OEM) and includes step-by-step repair information, diagrams, maintenance schedules, parts and labor estimates, service bulletins and recalls, and more. Up-to-Date Information, Intelligent Search Designed for touch-enabled devices such as laptops and tablets, Auto Repair Source™ offers a user-friendly search experience and access to a wealth of information to help users diagnose, repair and maintain today's complex vehicles. Diagrams and images can be easily magnified and printed.

Whew!  That's a lot of info.  So, lets say you've inherited a 1992 Crown Victoria from your older sister who figured it would be cheaper to give you the car than to call someone to scrap it.  There's not a good change that the manual is going to be in the glovebox.  The good news is that you can find everything you need using this one database.  

That means if you need to figure out why the air conditioner isn't working...

...or if you know the lock housing needs replaced

... or if you've somehow lucked out and it only needs air in the tires...

You can get accurate, up to date information or testing, labor, or parts costs with a few clicks.  

Check out our LibGguides for TSTC's various automotive and diesel engine programs. We have plenty of links and videos to help you with your coursework. Click the links below and be taken to the guides that provide links on topics like Industry Standards, Professional Organizations, Diesel Engine Repair, Troubleshooting Engine Problems, and Automotive Concepts.

Automotive Technology

Diesel Equipment Technology