TSTC Library News

Looking for some wellness wisdom?

Don't fall for the myths! Here are a few health misconceptions debunked:

• These popular health tips are FALSE! - These health tips that you follow are false or misleading. Read to know more..

Climate change. Is it happening, at what rate, and why? Those are common questions posed on a controversial topic and one that always seems to make its way into the news. You may be a student, a researcher or someone just interested in science related subjects like this and wouldn’t it be nice to have access to a one-stop-shop resource that provided you with a plethora of full-text articles on the subject drawn from hundreds of national and global newspapers, magazines, and journals? Gale In Context: Science is just that research tool. By integrating authoritative, curriculum-aligned reference content with headlines and videos, this tool draws students and researchers into the subject matter, showing how scientific disciplines relate to real-world issues ranging from weather patterns to obesity.

Are you more of a visual learner? Sometimes science it something that is best learned via imagery, which is something that Gale In Context: Science doesn’t skimp on either. And, images within Gale In Context: Science have hot spots that when scrolled over, show additional content and details associated with that image, something that is exclusive to this research tool. 

And, with more than 200 experiments and projects from UXL Experiment Central, users can learn about endangered species and natural disasters to climate change and global warming. Plus, no worries about the legitimacy of the information as Gale In Context: Science is aligned to National and State Science standards, including Common Core State Standards, Next Generation Science Standards, and Project 2061.

et the answers to your burning questions about the world of science and give Gale In Context: Science a whirl. This resource is available 24 hours a day, seven days a week, on any device. Try the resource for yourself at tstc.libguides.com/sic or for more information, contact asklibrary@tstc.edu.

Check out these new titles from Academic Video Online!

• Overview Of The Peripheral Nervous System
  Best for: Nursing, Emergency Medical Services, Health Information Technology, Surgical Technology, Biology
  A video on the peripheral nervous system.
• A Comprehensive Look At The Human Skeleton
  Best for: Nursing, Emergency Medical Services, Health Information Technology, Surgical Technology, Biology
  A comprehensive look at the human skeleton.
• Learn About Human Embryonic And Fetal Development, From Fertilization To Birth
  Best for: Nursing, Emergency Medical Services, Health Information Technology, Surgical Technology, Biology
  The human reproductive system.
• Basic Overview Of The Systems That Make Up The Human Body And Their Functions
  Best for: Nursing, Emergency Medical Services, Health Information Technology, Surgical Technology, Biology
  Video discusses general body systems.
• A Discussion Of The Different Organ Systems Of The Human Body And Their Influence On One Another
  Best for: Nursing, Emergency Medical Services, Health Information Technology, Surgical Technology, Biology
  A video on the different body systems.
• Arterial Blood Gas Collection
  Best for: Phlebotomy, Nursing, Emergency Medical Services, Health Information Technology, Surgical Technology
  This video covers the critical aspects of arterial sampling every respiratory therapist, phlebotomist, nurse, and physician must know when collecting blood gases. The procedure reflects the Clinical Practice Guidelines of the American Association for Respiratory Care (AARC) and Procedures for the Collection of Arterial Blood Specimens published by the Clinical and Laboratory Standards Institute.
• Mastering Pediatric Phlebotomy
  Best for: Phlebotomy, Nursing, Emergency Medical Services, Health Information Technology, Surgical Technology
  This lecture discusses equipment and techniques to obtain high-quality specimens from pediatric patients. Topics include site considerations for infants and toddlers, skin-puncture safety, age-specific considerations, maximum volume considerations, proven strategies to calm anxious children, and a literature summary of pain reduction products and techniques.
• Basic Venipuncture
  Best for: Phlebotomy, Nursing, Emergency Medical Services, Health Information Technology, Surgical Technology
  Learn the basic technique for drawing blood specimens by venipuncture according to the CLSI standards (GP41-A7). Detailed demonstrations include performing venipunctures using tube holders, syringes and winged blood collection sets. Emphasis is placed on needlestick safety, proper patient identification, preventing patient injury, and obtaining specimens free from errors that can alter results.
• Preventing Preanalytical Errors
  Best for: Phlebotomy, Nursing, Emergency Medical Services, Health Information Technology, Surgical Technology
  This video discusses 12 of the most common errors those who draw, process, handle, store and transport blood samples commit that alter test results. The effects of prolonged tourniquet time, order of draw, complications with IV fluids, fasting and more are highly detailed with emphasis on their impact on test results and patient care.
• Learn About The Blood Clotting Process And Deep Vein Thrombosis
  Best for: Phlebotomy, Nursing, Emergency Medical Services, Health Information Technology, Surgical Technology
  Video about the blood clotting process. Examination of potential risk factors for deep vein thrombosis and describes its symptoms. Dangers of deep vein thrombosis include pulmonary embolism and pulmonary infarction.
• Discover How The Rhesus Factor In Blood Affects How Blood Transfusions Are Given
  Best for: Phlebotomy, Nursing, Emergency Medical Services, Health Information Technology, Surgical Technology
  Watch the video to learn more about the Rh factor and why pregnant women should be tested for it before giving birth.
• Overview Of The Autonomic Nervous System And Its Functions: To Conserve Energy And Respond To Stress
  Best for: Nursing, Emergency Medical Services, Health Information Technology, Surgical Technology, Biology
  Video on the autonomic nervous system. Stress, sympathetic nervous system, "fight or flight," parasympathetic nervous system, homeostasis.
• Learn About The Growth Process Of Bones In The Human Skeletal System
  Best for: Nursing, Emergency Medical Services, Health Information Technology, Surgical Technology, Biology
  A video on the human skeleton, bones.

As you start your next assignment, know that you can find support outside of our classroom.

The TSTC LRC offers homework help resources that give you quick access to credible sources covering topics we’ve covered in class. Plus, with integrated tools you regularly use, like G Suite for Education and Microsoft Office 365, it’s easy for you to save, share, and download content—including highlights and notes. Be sure to use these resources when starting your next assignment.

Visit https://tstc.libguides.com/sic for access or reach out to asklibrary@tstc.edu if you need assistance.

Have you ever tried to search for health-related information online only to be overwhelmed by advertisements? Our library provides health and wellness databases from Gale. Not only is the content relevant and from trusted sources, but there aren’t any ads to get in the way of you and what you’re researching. Now that’s something to feel good about!

Why wait?

Access these resources now at https://tstc.libguides.com/hnm. Please contact LRC staff if you need help getting started.

Why Search Here?

Contains research specifically for technical fields and programs, including alcohol and drugs abuse counseling, biotechnology, computer and data processing, culinary arts, electrical technology, graphic arts, and health information technology.

What's Included?

Full-text articles, eBooks, country reports, and market research reports.

A Deeper Look

Associates Programs Source Plus is designed specifically for the research needs of students like you. This comprehensive resource provides full-text content from leading journals and books to help you complete your research projects quickly and efficiently.

Coverage of the Subjects You Care About:

• Alcohol & Drug Abuse Counseling

• Biotechnology

• Ceramics & Pottery

• Computer & Data Processing

• Cosmetology

• Culinary Arts

• Electrical Technology

• Fashion Design

• Forensics

• Graphic Arts

• Health Information Technology

• Interior Design

• Law Enforcement & Criminal Justice

• Photography

• Travel & Tourism

• Veterinary Assisting

• And many more

For access to Associates Programs Source Plus, please visit https://tstc.libguides.com/apsp or for more information, contact asklibrary@tstc.edu.

Looking for a way to finish your research faster AND get better results?  This short video will show you how to find online articles with EBSCO databases for your papers and projects. Includes information on using advanced search techniques, saving articles to folders, and finding auto generated citations.

Its been shown that access to the library increases your chance of success.  No, really!  Using library materials (books, eBooks, databases) and attending library instruction courses can help you get higher grades and are more likely to finish your degree.  

The new goods is that its easier than ever to access library resources, even if you are a remote student.  Visit our Remote Page for quick access to LRC resources you can use from home.  Looking for help using those resources?  Visit our Staff Page to contact your local librarian for help via chat, call, or an online meeting. 

Remember, we at the LRC want to help you success and care about your progress.  Always feel free to reach out for help.

Look, we get it.  You've spent a lot of time putting together your powerpoint or writing your paper.  You are just ready for the process to be over.  You have other stuff to do, other classes to study for, sleep to get, and work to do.  But before you save that document and turn it in, remember that you need to cite your sources.  This is a vital step and can make a big difference in your grade.

Need help getting started on citing sources for your projects and papers?  Look no further than our citation guide for example citations, sample papers, and advice on how to cite in-text.

Looking for more help?  No worries!  Your friendly library staff is always available to help you when it comes to formatting and citing sources.  Reach out at any time for help!

Why Cite?

It gives proper credit to the work's creator.

So when you do research, its important to remember that everything you are reading is written by a real person.  This person may have spent years of their lives researching one specific topic in such detail that it provides you with the support you need for your project.  So lets say you are doing some research on the placebo effect and you stumble across this 10 year trial that has great information you want to use.  But take a minute to think about that.   A ten year trial.  Think That means that someone dedicated 10 years of their life to this one project and that 10 years resulted in this one paper.  For all that effort, you want to make sure that the author is credited for the 10 years they devoted to the research that helps you prove your point. 

It enables the researcher to find the work cited in order to verify the accuracy and interpretation of what is quoted or referred to.

Some people are more credible about topics than others.  You wouldn't trust your doctor to replace your water pump.  You wouldn't trust your mechanic to remove your gallbladder.  When you cite yoursources, the name of whoever wrote what you are quoting from goes first.  Its a big statement that says "This is a person that I trust to have accurate information."  It allows your instructor and anyone else that reads your paper know that you have enough knowledge on the subject to know who is worth listening to.  

It is a check on the false attribution and misleading use of information.

"Well I read online that-" "I saw this show once-"  "This email was looked over by an attorney-"  See a trend?  None of these statements can be verified.  Where online?  What was the show?  Who is this mysterous attorney?  Usually when you hear someone start a conversation this way, you know to be careful because what they are saying may not be 100% accurate (if accurate at all).  The common thread here is that you can't actually fact check anything they are saying because they don't provide enough details.  Citation allows anyone reading your paper or project to know who wrote it, where it was published, when it was published, and who it was published by.  By providing this info, you are again showing the quality of the source and your judgement.

It allows YOUR ideas to stand out clearly in the text.  

The point of your coursework is to show your instructor how well you understand the subject.  And while using expert opinions and information is a great way to support your arguments, its important that your ideas and comprehension shine through.  By citing your sources, you are showing your instructor that you put the time and energy into researching the topic and now you are able to form your own opinions.  Research is a conversation and most issues have multiple sides.  Did these two well respected authors opinions differ? So why did you choose to quote one author over another?  By citing other people's opinions, you are able to clearly use them as support or a springboard to refute their claims.  This allows your instructor to see your understanding of the material which always means better grades.

It helps reduce the possibility of plagiarism as you have clearly stated the sources for your information and ideas.

You didn't think you'd get through a list about citation without hearing about plagiarism did you?  Plagiarism is a big deal.  Its a form of fraud and can get you in serious trouble. For TSTC, its an ethical issue and can affect your academic career and professional reputation.  Don't risk your future by trying to pass someone else's work off as your own.

It improves your grade.

Take a look at your assignment.  Chances are, your instructor has some requirements for the resources you can use.  For some it may just be a number: "Use no less than 3 sources".  For others it may be quality: "All sources must be peer reviewed".  And for a few it can be a date range: "Sources must be published within two years of today's date."  The easiest way to prove all of these is in your works cited/bibliography.  By including these details, your instructor can easily check these items off the grading rubric and move on to the content of your paper. Citing your sources can often be the easiest points you get on a paper.  So go through the little extra time it takes to include them and it can make a big difference on the final outcome.

The Learning Resource Center (LRC) is available remotely to all TSTC students on and off campus.  Some locations may be open face to face with limited hours so be sure to check with your local campus for details.   The LRC is here to assist with educational and professional development by providing access to services and resources including: 

• Library Services for Remote Learning

• Email, Chat, and phone based reference

• Electronic databases

• Research Guides 

• Student Services and Resources Guide

 Your TSTC WebAdvisor or ID login information may be required to access remote resources. For more information and assistance, please reach out to your local library staff on Monday-Friday from 8:00 a.m. to 5 p.m., or visit the TSTC LibGuides and/or the TSTC LRC Portal Page. 

Why should you use the LRC?

• Librarians will save you time with  your research and help you meet your instructor’s expectations.

• It’s a good place to meet socially and for group projects.

• We have resources that are tailored to your needs to help you quickly find what you need.

What can I do at the LRC?

• Check out technical or leisure books, ebooks, and DVDs.

• Use the study rooms for study sessions or group projects.

• Access computers, scanners, and printing services.

Important Resources

• Email, Chat, and phone based reference

• Electronic databases

• Research Guides 

• Library Catalog

  • Books, eBooks, newspapers, magazines, journals, and special collections

  • Multimedia resources [DVD, CDs, Audiobooks, etc.]

• Texshare cards

• TSTC LRC Bookshare

• LRC computers and printers for on-campus use

Detailed highlights for the 2020 fall semester:

One-on-one research consultations

Not sure where to get started on research?  Never used a database before?  Never written a research paper before? No worries!  LRC staff are available to meet in person, answer questions via email, or through the telephone. 

Acquisitions

Need books or other library materials for your research? Please contact your librarian with your request!  The library will try to obtain all requested titles that support programs, within the available budget.  Please keep in mind that resources such as databases or periodicals will require ongoing funding and will be considered on a case by case basis.  

Citation, Research, and Writing Guides

These guides are built to help students properly research, write, and cite papers which can help them do better in their coursework. 

• For Citation Visit: http://tstc.libguides.com/citation
• For Research Visit: http://tstc.libguides.com/search
• For Writing Visit: http://tstc.libguides.com/writing

Database Listing

Visit: http://tstc.libguides.com/az.php for an A-Z listing for links to all databases and eResources that the LRC subscribes to.

Student Resources

Visit: http://tstc.libguides.com/student to see an overview of what the LRC can do to help you with your information needs!

For more information and access assistance, please reach out to your local library staff during library hours or visit the TSTC Libguides or the TSTC LRC Portal Page available 24/7. 

With all of the information out there surrounding COVID-19, it can be difficult sorting through everything to find what you need. The TSTC LRCs have put together a guide with easy sections and links to find what you are looking for regarding this pandemic.

Government Websites

This section focuses on information and updates from the Center of Disease Control and any information regarding government assistance.

Public Health and Safety

For information on the virus itself, how it is transmitted, symptoms, and details on the importance of personal protection like masks.

Student Resources

Focused on issues impacting students, including links on how financial aid is being impacted, free resources available online, and tips for transitioning to online learning.

Faculty Resources

This section has links that might help TSTC faculty transitioning to online teaching.

About COVID-19

Research is ongoing and ever changing, and this section provides tools to find articles from scholarly, trusted sources on information about the coronavirus.

Laws and Legislation

Direct links to proposed laws and laws that have passed regarding COVID-19.