Library Guides: Welding Technology: Finding Websites

Evaulating Websites

The internet contains a lot of great information but not all of it is accurate. Since anyone can publish anything on the web it is sometime difficult to know if a website contains factual information. Print sources, such as books and journals go through a peer review or editing process meaning that the information found using them is often more reliable.

Use our guide as a starting point to help evaluate a website’s credibility.

Welding Websites

Aluminum Association
"The Aluminum Association is the industry’s leading voice in Washington, DC. It provides global standards, industry statistics and expert knowledge to member companies and policy makers nationwide. Highly engaged in public policy and technical forums, the Association is committed to advancing aluminum as the sustainable metal of choice around the world."
American Foundry Society
"The American Foundry Society is the leading U.S. based metalcasting society, assisting member companies (metalcasting facilities, diecasters and industry suppliers) and individuals to effectively manage their production operations, profitably market their products and services and equitably manage their employees."
American Galvanizers Association
"The AGA is a non-profit trade association dedicated to serving the needs of after-fabrication galvanizers, fabricators, architects, specifiers, and engineers. The AGA provides technical support on today's innovative applications and state-of-the-art technological developments in hot-dip galvanizing for corrosion control."
American Society for Materials International
"ASM is the world's largest association of metals-centric materials scientists and engineers with over 30,000 members worldwide. ASM is dedicated to informing, educating and connecting the materials community to solve problems and stimulate innovation around the world."
Center for Naval Metalworking
"The Center for Naval Metalworking (CNM) develops and deploys innovative metalworking and related manufacturing technologies to reduce the cost and time to build and repair key U.S. Navy ships and weapons platforms, while also collaborating with other relevant manufacturing industries."
Edison Welding Institute
"EWI is the leading engineering and technology organization in North America dedicated to advanced materials joining and allied manufacturing technologies. By matching our expertise in materials joining, forming, testing, and modeling to the needs of forward-thinking manufacturers, we successfully create practical, efficient, and effective solutions in product design, fabrication, and production."
Guild of Metalsmiths
"The Guild of Metalsmiths exists to educate its members, and the community at large, about metalworking in general and blacksmithing in particular. This includes all forms of metalsmithing from traditional blacksmithing to contemporary art forms. "
National Certified Pipe Welding Bureau
"The NCPWB Welding Procedure Specifications are developed and qualified jointly by the members of the NCPWB and can be adopted by other members of the NCPWB under the provisions of the B31 Codes for Pressure Piping."
The Welding Institute
"TWI is one of the world’s foremost independent research and technology organisations, with expertise in solving problems in all aspects of manufacturing, fabrication and whole-life integrity management technologies."
Welding Research Council
Committees identify the areas in which joining pressure vessel technology and materials properties must be advanced and provide a forum for the exchange, evaluation, and dissemination of the pertinent technical information.

OSHA Welding and Cutting Page
"Welding, cutting, and brazing is addressed in specific standards for the general industry, shipyard employment, marine terminals, and construction industry."
Agricultural Engineering Safety Lesson Plan: Oxyacetylene Welding Safety
General safety practices for welders.
Arc Welding Safety
Practices for Arc Welder installation and personal safety.
Basic First Aid
First Aid guidelines for emergency situations.
Chemicals Commonly Associated with Welding, Cutting, and Brazing
A list of commonly used chemicals. Contains links for each chemical to the OSHA Chemical Sampling Guide.
First Aid for Eyes
Basic first aid practices for eye care.

American National Standards Institute
"The Institute oversees the creation, promulgation and use of thousands of norms and guidelines that directly impact businesses in nearly every sector: from acoustical devices to construction equipment, from dairy and livestock production to energy distribution, and many more. ANSI is also actively engaged in accreditation - assessing the competence of organizations determining conformance to standards."
International Organization for Standardization
"ISO (International Organization for Standardization) is an independent, non-governmental membership organization and the world's largest developer of voluntary International Standards. They give world-class specifications for products, services and systems, to ensure quality, safety and efficiency. They are instrumental in facilitating international trade."
ISO 5187:1985 Welding and allied processes
"Defines the principles and the technique of the tests designed to determine the conventional mechanical characteristics of assemblies produced with soft solders and brazing filler metals. Specifies also a method of interpreting the results obtained. Applies to joining materials and their fluxes which are used for soldering and brazing of ferrous and non-ferrous metals and alloys."
ISO 10564:1993 Soldering and brazing materials
"Describes the procedures designed to produce an analysis sample representative for each batch of soft solder in the consignment in the folowing details: unit of product, selection of the batch sample, preparation of the test sample sticks from the batch sample, preparation of the analysis sample, testing of individual units of product, preservation of the analysis sample."

SmartWeld
"SmartWeld is a set of science based software applications which enable engineers, designers, and technologists to determine optimal automatic welding procedures for seam welding, spot welding, laser welding, and many robotic welding applications."
U.S. National Institute of Standards and Technology
"The National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) is a measurement standards laboratory which is a non-regulatory agency of the United States Department of Commerce."
U.S. National Technical Information Service
"The National Technical Information Service serves as the largest central resource for government-funded scientific, technical, engineering, and business related information available today."
U.S. Occupational Safety & Health Administration - Welding, Cutting, & Brazing
"Welding, cutting, and brazing is addressed in specific standards for the general industry, shipyard employment, marine terminals, and construction industry."

Welder’s Guide to Welding Symbols
With so many different technical terms and symbols out there, it may seem tedious to study and understand them. Lucky for you, this guide to welding symbols shows you everything you need to know to do your job right.

Safeguarding Equipment and Protecting Employees from Amputations Booklet
OSHA 3170/56 pgs.
Using Aerial Lifts Fact Sheet
Downed Electrical Wires Fact Sheet
Hand and Power Tools Booklet
OSHA 3080/32 pgs.
Personal Protective Equipment Booklet
OSHA 3151/48 pgs.
Controlling Electrical Hazards Booklet
OSHA 3075/72 pgs.
Indoor Air Quality in Commercial and Institutional Buildings Booklet
OSHA 3430/28 pgs.
Industrial Hygiene Booklet
Job Hazard Analysis Guide
OSHA 3071
Occupational Noise Exposure Safety and Health Topics Web Page

Assembly Magazine
"ASSEMBLY covers the processes, technologies and strategies for assembling discrete parts into finished products. We write about robots, conveyors, vision systems and other technologies for assembly automation, as well as workstations, power tools and other equipment for manual production. We publish articles on lean manufacturing, screwdriving, riveting, adhesive bonding, welding and other methods for assembling parts."
Fabricating & Metalworking Magazine
"Fabricating & Metalworking magazine is the business voice of the metal manufacturing industry, delivering relevant industry news coverage and powerful technical information to over 38,000 shop owners, managers, engineers, operators and maintenance professionals around the world."
The FABRICATOR®
"FMA serves members involved in the following processes: bending, blanking, cutting, drawing, extruding, fastening, finishing, leveling, piercing, punching, roll forming, shearing, slitting, spinning, straightening, stamping, swaging, and welding."
Foundry Management & Technology
"For over 120 years, Foundry Management & Technology has provided executives, production management, purchasing, and process control personnel with information that focuses exclusively on their needs and the needs of their suppliers, and provides a comprehensive directory to the metalcasting market."
Welding Journal
"The American Welding Society (AWS) was founded in 1919, as a nonprofit organization with a global mission to advance the science, technology and application of welding and allied joining and cutting processes, including brazing, soldering and thermal spraying."