Footnote/Endnote Format
First Name Last Name, "Title of Article," Title of Periodical, Date of access, URL.
Footnote/Endnote Example
Barron YoungSmith, "Date Local: The case against long-distance relationships," Slate, February 4, 2009, http://www.slate.com/id/2202431/.
Bibliographical Format
Last Name, First Name. "Title of Article," Title of Periodical, Date of access, URL.
Bibliographical Example
YoungSmith, Barron. "Date Local: The case against long-distance relationships." Slate, February 4, 2009. http://www.slate.com/id/2202431/.
Footnote/Endnote Format
First Name Last Name. "Title of Article," Title of Periodical volume number, no. issue number (Year of Publication): page number, accessed Date of access, DOI or URL.
Footnote/Endnote Example
Henry E. Bent, “Professionalization of the Ph.D. Degree,” College Composition and Communication 58, no. 4 (2007): 141, accessed December 4, 2017, http://www.jstor.org/stable/1978286.
Bibliographical Format
Last Name, First Name. "Title of Article," Title of Periodical volume number, no. issue number (Year of Publication): page number, accessed Date of access, DOI or URL.
Bibliographical Example
Bent, Henry E. "Professionalization of the Ph.D. Degree.” College Composition and Communication 58, no. 4 (2007): 0-145. Accessed December 4, 2017. http://www.jstor.org/stable/1978286.
Footnote/Endnote Format
First name Last name, Title of Book (Place of publication: Publisher, Year of publication), page number.
Footnote/Endnote Example
J. R. R. Tolkien, The Return of the King: Being the Third Part of Lord of the Rings (London: HarperCollins Publishers, 2011), 92.
Bibliographical Format
Last name, First name. Title of Book. Place of publication: Publisher, Year of publication.
Bibliographical Example
Tolkien, J.R.R. The Return of the King: Being the Third Part of Lord of the Rings. London: HarperCollins Publishers, 2011.
Footnote/Endnote Format
First name Last name, Title of Book (Place of publication: Publisher, Year of publication), page number.
Footnote/Endnote Example
Randy Krehbiel and Karlos K. Hill, Tulsa, 1921: Reporting a Massacre (Norman, OK: University of Oklahoma Press, 2021), 138.
Bibliographical Format
Last Name, First Name and First Name Last Name. Title of Book. Place of publication: Publisher, Year of publication.
Bibliographical Example
Krehbiel, Randy, and Karlos K. Hill. Tulsa, 1921: Reporting a Massacre. Norman, OK: University of Oklahoma Press, 2021.
Footnote/Endnote Format
First name Last name, Title of Book (Place of publication: Publisher, Year of publication), page number.
Footnote/Endnote Example
Encyclopedia Americana (Danbury, CT: Scholastic Library Pub., 2006), 297.
Bibliographical Format
Title of Book. Place of publication: Publisher, Year of publication.
Bibliographical Example
Encyclopedia Americana. Danbury, CT: Scholastic Library Pub., 2006.
Footnote/Endnote Format
First name Last name, Title of Book (Place of publication: Publisher, Year of publication), URL.
Footnote/Endnote Example
Randy Krehbiel. Tulsa, 1921 : Reporting a Massacre (Norman: University of Oklahoma Press, 2019), https://search-ebscohost-com.libproxy.tstc.edu/login.aspx?direct=true&db=nlebk&AN=2218101&site=ehost-live.
Bibliographical Format
Last name, First name. Title of Book. Place of publication: Publisher, Year of publication. URL.
Bibliographical Example
Krehbiel, Randy. Tulsa, 1921 : Reporting a Massacre. Norman: University of Oklahoma Press, 2019. https://search-ebscohost-com.libproxy.tstc.edu/login.aspx?direct=true&db=nlebk&AN=2218101&site=ehost-live.
Footnote/Endnote Format
First name Last name, Title of Book (Place of publication: Publisher, Year of publication), page number.
Footnote/Endnote Example
Karin Perry, Holly Weimar, and Mary Ann Bell. 2018. Sketchnoting in School : Discover the Benefits (and Fun) of Visual Note Taking. Lanham, Maryland: Rowman & Littlefield Publishers. https://search-ebscohost-com.libproxy.tstc.edu/login.aspx?direct=true&db=nlebk&AN=1628637&site=ehost-live..
Bibliographical Format
Last Name, First Name and First Name Last Name. Title of Book. Place of publication: Publisher, Year of publication.
Bibliographical Example
Perry, Karin, Holly Weimar, and Mary Ann Bell. 2018. Sketchnoting in School : Discover the Benefits (and Fun) of Visual Note Taking. Lanham, Maryland: Rowman & Littlefield Publishers. https://search-ebscohost-com.libproxy.tstc.edu/login.aspx?direct=true&db=nlebk&AN=1628637&site=ehost-live.
Footnote/Endnote Format
First name Last name, "Tite of Web Page," accessed Date Accessed, URL.
Footnote/Endnote Example
Richard Kimberly Heck, “About the Philosophical Gourmet Report,” accessed August 5, 2016, http://rgheck.frege.org/philosophy/aboutpgr.php.
Bibliographical Format
Last name, First name. "Tite of Web Page." Accessed Date Accessed. URL.
Bibliographical Example
Heck, Richard Kimberly. “About the Philosophical Gourmet Report.” Accessed August 5, 2016. http://rgheck.frege.org/philosophy/aboutpgr.php.
Footnote/Endnote Format
"Tite of Web Page," accessed Date Accessed, URL.
Footnote/Endnote Example
“Band,” Casa de Calexico, accessed October 27, 2017, http://www.casadecalexico.com/band.
Bibliographical Format
"Tite of Web Page." Accessed Date Accessed. URL.
Bibliographical Example
“Band.” Casa de Calexico. Accessed October 27, 2017. http://www.casadecalexico.com/band.
Footnote/Endnote Format
Firstname Lastname (Screen name), “Post text”, social media service, indication of format/medium, publication date, time stamp, URL.
Footnote/Endnote Example
Bill Nye (@BillNye), “While I’m not much for skipping school, I sure am in favor of calling attention to the seriousness of climate change. Our students can see the problem…,” Twitter, March 14, 2019, https://twitter.com/BillNye/status/1106242216123486209.
Bibliographical Format
Lastname, Firstname (Screen name). “Post text”. Social media service, indication of format/medium, publication date, time stamp. URL.
Bibliographical Example
Nye, Bill (@BillNye). “While I’m not much for skipping school, I sure am in favor of calling attention to the seriousness of climate change. Our students can see the problem….” Twitter, March 14, 2019. https://twitter.com/BillNye/status/1106242216123486209.
Footnote/Endnote Format
(@Screen name), “Post text”, social media service, indication of format/medium, publication date, time stamp. URL.
Footnote/Endnote Example
(@LeVostreGC), "Ther nys no partye lyke an Unexpected Partye, by cause an Unexpected Partye doth leade to a lengthye journeye to the Lonelye Mountayne.", Twitter, January 5, 2016, 11:49 AM. twitter.com/LeVostreGC/status/684461734879313920.
Bibliographical Format
(@Screen name). “Post text”. Social media service, indication of format/medium, publication date, time stamp. URL.
Bibliographical Example
(@LeVostreGC). "Ther nys no partye lyke an Unexpected Partye, by cause an Unexpected Partye doth leade to a lengthye journeye to the Lonelye Mountayne.". Twitter, January 5, 2016, 11:49 AM. twitter.com/LeVostreGC/status/684461734879313920.
Because authors are generally expected to be intimately familiar with the sources they are citing, Chicago discourages the use of a source that was cited within another (secondary) source. In the case that an original source is utterly unavailable, however, Chicago requires the use of "quoted in" for the note:
Example
Ian Hacking, The Social Construction of What? (Cambridge, MA: Harvard University Press, 1999), 103, quoted in Manuel DeLanda, A New Philosophy of Society (New York: Continuum, 2006), 2.