Physics

Getting started with databases

What are databases and where can I find them?

Where to find databases:


About databases

A  database is where you find ebooks and articles from journals, magazines, trade publications, and newspapers. Each database contains thousands of sources published in many different journals, allowing you find relevant articles faster than you would by searching individual journals.

TSTC Library Services subscribes to a large number of databases which are not otherwise freely available online.  You can browse an alphabetical list or filter by program/subject, resource type, or the vendor.  

 

Terms you may encounter in your research

  • Database: A searchable platform that contains descriptive records of articles, books, conference proceedings, audio-visual material, maps, newspapers, and more.
  • Full-text: This means you can read the item in full from beginning to end, not just the abstract or summary.
  • Peer Reviewed: Also, Scholarly Source. Peer review is the evaluation of work by one or more people with similar competencies as the producers of the work. It functions as a form of self-regulation by qualified members of a profession within the relevant field.

Physics databases

  • Academic eBook Collection
    Best Bet

    This multidisciplinary collection includes thousands of e-books covering a large selection of academic subjects including: Business & economics, Education, Language arts & disciplines, Political science, Religion, Literary criticism, Medical, Social Science, Philosophy, Technology & engineering, and World history.

  • Adult Core Skills Center

    Lessons and practice tips for Developmental Math, Algebra, Geometry, Calculus, Statistics, Reading Comprehension, Vocab, Spelling, Writing, Chemistry, Biology, Physics, and General Science. Also has TSI and CLEP test preparation exams if you are trying to test out of general education courses.

  • Boundless

    The library’s curated collection of eBooks and digital audiobooks. Search, browse, and discover content that you need to thrive in your courses and beyond.

  • Digital Book Index

    Provides access to over 165,000 full-text digital books from various academic and commercial publishers.  Great for research across disciplines.

  • Ebook Central

    Ebook Central provides authoritative, full-text eBooks in a wide range of subject areas along with powerful tools to find, use, and manage the information.  Subjects include: Business & economics; Computers & IT; Education; Engineering & technology; History & political science; Humanities, Interdisciplinary & area studies; Language, literature & linguistics; Law, international relations & public policy; Life sciences; Medical; Nursing & allied health; Physical sciences; Psychology & social work; Religion, philosophy & classics; and Sociology & anthropology.

  • eBook Collection on EBSCOhost

    This eBook collection includes titles from the world's leading business, technology, trade, reference, academic, and scholarly publishers.

  • Gale General OneFile

    Our largest general-interest periodical resource, General OneFile allows researchers to find the information they want quickly. With intuitive searching that mirrors Internet searches, users can easily tap into sources that are guaranteed for quality.  Most content in Gale General OneFile is full-text with no embargo and recommended by Bowker's Magazines for Libraries.

  • Gale in Context: Science

    Spans the fields of biology, chemistry, physics, earth and environmental science, health and medicine, and math and technology. Go beyond research projects and choose from over 350 experiments in 200 entries to assign during everyday instruction, enabling hands-on learning anywhere students have online access.

  • Gale Interactive Science

    Get face to face with 360 models. Contains authoritative, high-quality digital content paired with interactive 3D models. Over 200 interactive sessions and 60 models to print with a 3D printer. Covers biology, chemistry, earth science, and human anatomy with relevant content from other resources.

  • SciTech Premium Collection

    For researchers who need to conduct comprehensive literature reviews, this database includes specialized, editorial-controlled A&I resources for discovery of relevant scholarly research and technical literature critical to the discipline. Includes the Natural Science Collection and the Technology Collection and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications, and more.

View More Results