Library Guides: ENGL 1302: Composition II: Getting started

Getting started

Tutoring

Click here to make an appointment

Tutoring services are available for help with your courses. Fill out this short request and a staff member will reach out to you.

Today's hours

Library Chat	Closed
Online Library	Closed
Harlingen	Closed

Have a question?

Module 1

Recommended databases

This section introduces library resources to help you explore how artificial intelligence (AI) may impact your future career. The recommended databases offer reliable, up-to-date articles, and research on AI integration across various industries. These resources are a great place to start gathering credible information for early assignments or personal exploration. Additional resources are included below to help you refine your topic and broaden your understanding.

Artificial Intelligence by Brent M. Gordon (Editor)
Type: eBook

ISBN: 9781613240199

Publication Date: 2011-11-01

In this new book, the authors present topical research in the study of the tools and applications of artificial intelligence. Topics discussed include the application of artificial intelligence in the oil and gas industry and in metal stamping die design; using artificial intelligence to predict embryo quality and in biomedical imaging techniques.
Artificial Intelligence by IT Governance Publishing (Editor)
Type: eBook

ISBN: 9781787783706

Publication Date: 2022-06-30

This book explores the complex topic of AI ethics in a cross-functional way, alternating between theory and practice.
Artificial Intelligence by Tonya Randolph (Editor)
Type: eBook

ISBN: 9781685073138

Publication Date: 2021-11-11

Today, many Americans are concerned about the impact that artificial intelligence and machine learning will have on jobs. This book examines the impact of these factors on the workforce, including issues related to worker displacement, retraining of the current workforce, and developing a skilled technical workforce of the future that can thrive in an economy in which AI increasingly plays a role.
Artificial Intelligence : Applications in Healthcare Delivery by Sandeep Reddy
Type: eBook

ISBN: 9780367321512

Publication Date: 2021

This book discusses the different types of AI applicable to healthcare and their application in medicine, population health, genomics, healthcare administration, and delivery. Readers, especially healthcare professionals and managers, will find the book useful to understand the different types of AI and how they are relevant to healthcare delivery.
Art Intelligence by Jan Svenungsson
Type: eBook

ISBN: 9783837674729

Publication Date: 2025-03-04

Artists always react to the times in which they live. They may celebrate them or criticize them, often trying to change them. But this is the first time in history that technology controlled by private companies is offering to replace the work of writers, musicians, illustrators and visual artists. What impact will generative AI have on how we create art and how we understand what art is for? How will it affect the role of the artist in the future and the conditions under which artists will work? Jan Svenungsson tackles these questions, investigating what AI might do for art, and what it might change, circling the core issue of what it is in human art-making that cannot be replaced.
Automated and Electric Vehicle by Yue Cao; Yuanjian Zhang
Type: eBook

ISBN: 9789811957512

Publication Date: 2022-10-28

This book focuses on the design, informatics, and energy sustainability of automated and electric vehicles. Both principles and engineering practice have been addressed, from design perspectives toward informatics enabled transport service operation including automated valet parking and charging use cases. This is achieved by providing an in-depth study on a number of major topics such as battery management, eco-driving system, telecommunications, transport and charging services, cyber-security, etc.
Click Here to Kill Everybody: Security and Survival in a Hyper-Connected World by Bruce Schneier
Type: eBook

ISBN: 9780393608892

Publication Date: 2018-09-04

Best-selling author Bruce Schneier explores the risks and security implications of our new, hyper-connected era, and lays out common-sense policies that will allow us to enjoy the benefits of this omnipotent age without falling prey to the consequences of its insecurity.
Industry 4.0 by Aydin Azizi; Reza Vatankhah Barenji
Type: eBook

ISBN: 9789811920127

Publication Date: 2022-12-07

This book presents Industry 4.0 enabler technologies and tools. It also highlights some of the existing empirical applications in the context of manufacturing. The book elucidates innovative thematic concepts of Industry 4.0 and its perspectives. It establishes routes to empirically utilize Industry 4.0 standards for manufacturing companies.
Industry 4.0 and Engineering for a Sustainable Future by Mohammad Dastbaz; Peter Cochrane
Type: eBook

ISBN: 9783030129538

Publication Date: 2019-04-23

This unique volume considers the emergence of "Industry 4.0" (i4.0) and the many ways the multifaceted field of Engineering is transforming our ideas and our options around sustainability. It points to emerging technological advances that are facilitating industrial process improvements to artificial intelligence's promise to help us live "smartly" and manage energy demand.
Predictive Maintenance in Smart Factories by Tania Cerquitelli; Nikolaos Nikolakis
Type: eBook

ISBN: 9789811629402

Publication Date: 2021-08-26

This book presents the outcome of the European project "SERENA", involving fourteen partners as international academics, technological companies, and industrial factories, addressing the design and development of a plug-n-play end-to-end cloud architecture, and enabling predictive maintenance of industrial equipment to be easily exploitable by small and medium manufacturing companies with a very limited data analytics experience.
The Threshold by Nick Chatrath
Type: eBook

ISBN: 9781635768930

Publication Date: 2023-02-28

With developments emerging every day, Artificial Intelligence will soon surpass most human competencies, and as a result drastically transform technology's role in our day-to-day world. The solution for organizational leaders is not to become more like computers. In order for our organizations to survive as we stand at the threshold of a new era, we must tap into the qualities that make us uniquely human.

Modules 2-4

Recommended databases

These resources support your major writing assignments: the annotated bibliography, argument essay, and counterargument essay. Use the linked list of topics to explore current issues and perspectives in Gale:Opposing Viewpoints. These topic pages provide background information, scholarly articles, opinion pieces, and multimedia to help build strong, well-rounded arguments.

First Time Walkthrough - Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints

Research & citation assistance

Research assignments can be difficult to begin, especially if you are not sure how to get started. The resources below are intended to help you with the research and writing process, but there is more help available.

Book a session with a TSTC librarian to get one-on-one assistance.

Visit our FAQ and tutorials for after hours assistance.

Writing Guides

Citation Guides

Book a session with a TSTC librarian to get one-on-one assistance.

Visit our FAQ and tutorials for after hours assistance.

Pre-Writing

Making a Research Plan
Step by step instructions on how to write a research paper from pre-planning to submission.
Evaluating Sources
Use this list to help you better evaluate your sources as you research.
Concept Maps
An example of a concept map. Concept maps can be a good way to get started by getting thoughts on paper quickly.
Listing
Listing is best used when you need to narrow your topic. Includes examples of listing topic ideas.
Journalists' Questions
The tried and true method of the 5w's and an h. Delve deep into an idea to pill interesting topic ideas.
Freewriting
Not sure where to begin? Freewriting will allow your mind to wander so you can figure out what you know most/love best about the topic.

Writing

Steps for Writing a Research Paper
Academic writing can be a daunting task. This step-by-step tutorial can help you get started. Remember, the best instructions for how to start on a paper are found within your course outline or assignment instructions!
Revision Process Checklist
Don't turn in your paper only half finished! Use this checklist to make sure that you are turning in your best work.

Citation

APA 7th Edition Quick Sheet
Citation basics for APA 7th edition. Find sample papers and extended guides at https://tstc.libguides.com/citation.
Chicago/CMOS Quick Sheet
Citation basics for Chicago/CMOS style. Find sample papers and extended guides at https://tstc.libguides.com/citation.
MLA 8th Edition Quick Sheet
Citation basics for MLA 8th edition.

Are You Making a Meal Out of Research? : A Recipe for Research Success by Steve Reay
Type: eBook

ISBN: 9781000865981

Publication Date: 2023

This workbook has been designed to help you better understand what research is, how to do it (with activities to help you think about this in the context of your own research) and where you might start looking in the vast ocean of resources out there.
College Research Papers for Dummies by Joe Giampalmi
Type: eBook

ISBN: 9781394191123

Publication Date: 2023-07-12

Take advantage of all the resources available to you as you write your first research paper, from your university’s library databases to your local college center’s support services Develop common research paper writing techniques, including argumentation, research questions, and thesis statements
How to Write a Scientific Paper by Saramaki, Jari
Type: eBook

ISBN: 9781386140917

Publication Date: October 29, 2018

You'll learn how to outline your paper from top to down, how to develop your story, and how to think about what to write before you write it. You'll also learn how to deal with many issues that writers of science commonly face, from the fear of the blank page to dealing with critical reviews.
How to Write Essays for Standardized Tests: Advice and Examples for Ap Act and Other Common High School Exam Essays by Not Available (NA)
Type: eBook

ISBN: 9780525571919

Publication Date: November 22, 2021

This essential guide expertly analyzes what graders are looking for across each of these standardized high school tests and then helps you swiftly and effectively meet their requirements.
Level up Your Essays by Firth Mewburn
Type: eBook

ISBN: 9781742245126

Publication Date: 2021-04-01

Written by the people who mark your essays, it will show you step-by-step how to write high-quality essays that will get you top marks.
The Only Academic Phrasebook You'll Ever Need by Barros, Luiz Otávio
Type: eBook

ISBN: 9781386037156

Publication Date: February 28, 2019

A short, no-nonsense, reader-friendly bank of academic sentence templates. It was written for both graduate and undergraduate students who already know the basics of academic writing but may still struggle to express their ideas using the right words.
The Undergraduate Research Handbook by Gina Wisker
Type: eBook

ISBN: 9781137341495

Publication Date: 2018

This is a comprehensive guide to planning and producing high-quality dissertations, written assignments and project reports at undergraduate level. It supports students of all disciplines through each stage of the research process, from drafting questions and reviewing the literature through to collecting data and presenting their work. It provides practical guidance on common problems, including writer's block and managing deadlines, and contextualises this with examples of real students'experience of research.