A database is where you find ebooks and articles from journals, magazines, trade publications, and newspapers. Each database contains thousands of sources published in many different journals, allowing you find relevant articles faster than you would by searching individual journals.
TSTC Library Services subscribes to a large number of databases which are not otherwise freely available online. You can browse an alphabetical list or filter by program/subject, resource type, or the vendor.
Terms you may encounter in your research
Database: A searchable platform that contains descriptive records of articles, books, conference proceedings, audio-visual material, maps, newspapers, and more.
Full-text: This means you can read the item in full from beginning to end, not just the abstract or summary.
Peer Reviewed: Also, Scholarly Source. Peer review is the evaluation of work by one or more people with similar competencies as the producers of the work. It functions as a form of self-regulation by qualified members of a profession within the relevant field.
This multidisciplinary collection includes thousands of e-books covering a large selection of academic subjects including: Business & economics, Education, Language arts & disciplines, Political science, Religion, Literary criticism, Medical, Social Science, Philosophy, Technology & engineering, and World history.
This collection of more than 1,100 periodicals and 200 reports is a great resource for any educator—from the school teacher and administrator to those studying in the field at the collegiate and graduate level. Provides full text for titles in the ERIC database and covers multiple levels of education from preschool to college, and every educational specialty—such as technology, bilingual education, health education, and testing. It also provides insight on issues in administration, funding, and policy.
A database of resources for children's and young adult books and their authors and illustrators. Contains over 170,000 digital resources, including books, recordings, and images.
Combines everything you need for a successful job search into one easy-to-use online application. Detailed information on over 1,000 different occupations, workplace soft skills tutorials, resume and cover letter templates and advice. Includes certification/licensing exam prep materials for: Air Traffic Controller, Dental Assisting, Medical Assistant, Occupational Therapy Assistant, Pharmacy Tech, Physician Assistant, Physical Therapist Assistant, Radiologic Technologist, Respiratory Therapist, Social Worker, Surgical Technologist, Veterinary Tech, Commercial Driver's License (CDL), Culinary Arts, Food Handler, Electrician, Plumbing, EMT, Paramedic, Firefighter, Nursing Assistant/Nurse Aide, NCLEX-RN, NCLEX-PN, ParaPro, Praxis Core, Praxis Subject, NES Essential Academic Skills, and Texas TExES.
The library’s curated collection of eBooks and digital audiobooks. Search, browse, and discover content that you need to thrive in your courses and beyond.
Offers comprehensive coverage of issues that influence women’s lives across the globe. Gale OneFile: Contemporary Women's Issues provides access to current full text and pertinent backfile content covering topics including civil rights, health, education, professional development, and entrepreneurship.
Our largest general-interest periodical resource, General OneFile allows researchers to find the information they want quickly. With intuitive searching that mirrors Internet searches, users can easily tap into sources that are guaranteed for quality. Most content in Gale General OneFile is full-text with no embargo and recommended by Bowker's Magazines for Libraries.
Get familiar with teaching young researchers how to find resources they are looking for. Use this dynamic resource to enhance K-5 instruction and encourage student engagement. Contains over 16,000 indexed images, 600 videos, and 1,700 charts and graphs accessed through a visual interface to encourage student learning and exploration.
Access hundreds of thousands of topic overviews, primary sources, biographies, and critical essays on core subjects ranging from the Great Depression to Malala Yousafzai. Periodical coverage includes full-text newspaper, magazine, and journal articles from reputable sources like The Economist, The New York Times, National Geographic, Newsweek, Popular Science, and Smithsonian.
Over 300 topic pages provide content that supports national and state curriculum standards for grades 6 to 8 in English language arts, social studies, and science. Content is written explicitly for middle school students on a variety of topics, including government, U.S. and world history, geography, literature, science, and social issues.
Designed for middle- and high-school students and provides access to age-appropriate, authoritative digital content for classroom assignments. Learners can research magazines, journals, newspapers, and reference books covering a wide range of subjects, from science, history, and literature to political science, sports, and environmental studies.
By combining scholarship and primary sources on one platform, JSTOR strengthens the depth and quality of research, sparks innovative connections, and generates unexpected discoveries. Contains more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
Designed for children ages 3 to 6, Miss Humblebee’s Academy is an easy-to-use, interactive online solution for kindergarten readiness. It offers hundreds of lessons spanning all major academic subjects including social and emotional learning, gives weekly progress reports, and is one of the only kindergarten resources that provides assessments to measure proficiency and learning.
Engage kids and young students to broaden their educational horizons with reputable, special, authoritative, and age-appropriate digital content that brings them the world in a way they have never seen before. Explore amazing adventures in science, nature, culture, archaeology, and space. Best for children aged 6–14.
