Diesel Equipment Technology

Getting started with databases

What are databases and where can I find them?

Where to find databases:


About databases

A  database is where you find ebooks and articles from journals, magazines, trade publications, and newspapers. Each database contains thousands of sources published in many different journals, allowing you find relevant articles faster than you would by searching individual journals.

TSTC Library Services subscribes to a large number of databases which are not otherwise freely available online.  You can browse an alphabetical list or filter by program/subject, resource type, or the vendor.  

 

Terms you may encounter in your research

  • Database: A searchable platform that contains descriptive records of articles, books, conference proceedings, audio-visual material, maps, newspapers, and more.
  • Full-text: This means you can read the item in full from beginning to end, not just the abstract or summary.
  • Peer Reviewed: Also, Scholarly Source. Peer review is the evaluation of work by one or more people with similar competencies as the producers of the work. It functions as a form of self-regulation by qualified members of a profession within the relevant field.

Diesel Equipment Technology databases

  • Auto Repair Source Best Bet

    Auto Repair Source provides service and repair information for thousands of domestic and imported vehicles.  Content includes step-by-step repair information, diagrams, maintenance schedules, parts, and labor estimates, service bulletins and recalls.

  • Chilton Library Best Bet

    Provides quick online access to repair, maintenance and service information on popular cars, trucks, vans and SUVs. This product contains more than 50 years of information provided in step-by-step procedures, and offers test prep resources.

  • Academic eBook Collection

    This multidisciplinary collection includes thousands of e-books covering a large selection of academic subjects including: Business & economics, Education, Language arts & disciplines, Political science, Religion, Literary criticism, Medical, Social Science, Philosophy, Technology & engineering, and World history.

  • Academic Video Online

    80,000+ streaming video titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.

  • Advanced Technologies & Aerospace Database

    Over 26 million A&I records and over 2,250 full-text titles that date back to 1962. Covers into fields such as aeronautics, astronautics, communications, computer and information technology, electronics, lasers, solid-state materials and devices, space sciences, and telecommunications.

  • Boundless

    The library’s curated collection of eBooks and digital audiobooks. Search, browse, and discover content that you need to thrive in your courses and beyond.

  • Digital Book Index

    Provides access to over 165,000 full-text digital books from various academic and commercial publishers.  Great for research across disciplines.

  • eBook Collection on EBSCOhost

    This eBook collection includes titles from the world's leading business, technology, trade, reference, academic, and scholarly publishers.

  • Gale General OneFile

    Our largest general-interest periodical resource, General OneFile allows researchers to find the information they want quickly. With intuitive searching that mirrors Internet searches, users can easily tap into sources that are guaranteed for quality.  Most content in Gale General OneFile is full-text with no embargo and recommended by Bowker's Magazines for Libraries.

  • Materials Science & Engineering Database

    Provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings and government publications. Topics covered include metals, polymers, ceramics, composites, and biomaterials and deal with areas such as corrosion, molding and casting, treatment, recycling, testing, finishing, welding, and forming.

  • SciTech Premium Collection

    For researchers who need to conduct comprehensive literature reviews, this database includes specialized, editorial-controlled A&I resources for discovery of relevant scholarly research and technical literature critical to the discipline. Includes the Natural Science Collection and the Technology Collection and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications, and more.

  • Technology Collection

    Combines broad indexing coverage of the scholarly literature in advanced technology, computer science, engineering, materials science and related areas.  Includes scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications.