A staple of research, these resources are often good for getting a basic idea of a topic or field.  However, they can quickly become outdated as research continues.  For technology and medical fields, any information found in an older book should be cross-referenced with a newer journal or creditable online source.

The Library Services eBook Collection consist of titles for different subjects across all programs (as well as some casual reading titles for your downtime!). You can access these eBooks wherever and whenever you need. The library's eBooks are provided by a variety of suppliers and are available on different platforms, each with different rules and policies on loan period, download, printing and the number of simultaneous users. 

A research article is a journal article in which the authors report on the research they did. Research articles are always primary sources but vary on if they are peer-reviewed. 

Published research articles follow a predictable pattern and will contain most, if not all, of the sections listed below. 

• Title & Author(s)
• Abstract
• Introduction
• Methodology
• Results
• Discussion
• Conclusion
• References

TSTC libraries subscribe to online collections to help you find credible materials to support your studies. Databases provide access to thousands of articles which can be found in electronic journals or searched collectively through databases.

A journal is a regular publication (monthly, yearly, etc.) in which you will find academic and research articles. Much of the scholarly research published today is published as journal articles. Journals, also known as periodicals or magazines, generally fall under three categories:

• Scholarly sources such as journals, academic books, and dissertations, undergo a formal evaluation process before publication. These sources may or may not be peer-reviewed depending on the journal they are published in.

• Popular sources such as magazines do not typically go through the same review process as scholarly resources; in many cases, popular resources are reviewed by a single editor, who may or may not have expertise in the subject area. Popular sources are generally not considered to be scholarly or peer-reviewed.

• Trade sources are written for those who work in a specific industry. These sources tend to publish news, statistics, trends, and other information relevant to their industry. Authors can be staff editors, journalists, practitioners, or academics in the field. Trade sources are generally not considered to be scholarly or peer-reviewed.

Terms you may encounter during your research:

• Journal: A regular publication of academic and research articles.
• Serial: A broad term that refers to items published in a series but the items are separate and standalone. Examples include indexes, yearbooks and some journals.
• Periodical: A regular publication that includes articles, stories and other text. Magazines and newspapers are examples of these.
• Conference proceedings: The published record of a conference.
• Full-text: This means you can read the item in full from beginning to end, not just the abstract or summary.
• Platform: This refers to the site on which you can find and access the journal.

When you're looking for current information or information about a specific place, newspapers can be a great source. They're often printed daily and contain a lot of information about the city or town where they are published. They can also provide timely information about an event or issue. Searching through past holdings can help to pin down a date when something happened or show how a situation evolved.

The library has eAudiobook available for download.  You can listen to eAudiobooks on a variety of devices, including: Computers, Tablets, Mobile devices, Portable audio players, and eBook readers.

Audiobook Apps

The library offers several specialty databases to help you through your studies and prepare for your career.   These resources are available to help you with work outside of the classroom.  You'll find resources for:

• Automotive: searchable manuals that that include step-by-step auto repair information, diagrams, maintenance schedules, parts, and labor estimates, service bulletins and recalls. Also includes ASE practice tests.
• Nursing: Practice exams, eBooks, and flashcards for the NCLEX-RN, NCLEX-PN, and Nursing Assistant/Nurse Aide certification.
• Certification/Licensing Exam Prep: Covers: Air Traffic Controller, Dental Assisting, Medical Assistant, Occupational Therapy Assistant, Pharmacy Tech, Physician Assistant, Physical Therapist Assistant, Radiologic Technologist, Respiratory Therapist, Social Worker, Surgical Technologist, Veterinary Tech, Commercial Driver's License (CDL), Culinary Arts, Food Handler, Electrician, Plumbing, EMT, Paramedic, Firefighter, Nursing Assistant/Nurse Aide, NCLEX-RN, NCLEX-PN, ParaPro, Praxis Core, Praxis Subject, NES Essential Academic Skills, and Texas TExES.
• Job, Resume, & Interview Prep: Resume templates, interview skills, job search, and more.
• TSIA2 and CLEP:  Lessons and practice tips for Developmental Math, Algebra, Geometry, Calculus, Statistics, Reading Comprehension, Vocab, Spelling, Writing, Chemistry, Biology, Physics, and General Science. 
• TOEFL & IELTS: Practice tests, eBooks, and flashcards. Also includes resources on basic grammar and writing personal essays.
• ESN/ENL: Herramientas de aprendizaje, carrera y ciudadanía en español. Mejorar la escritura, gramática, lectura y habilidades matemáticas. Tomar exámenes de práctica para el examen de ciudadanía y GED® estadounidense.

Visit our resources guide for an overview or use the referenced links for more information. 

Sometimes the best way to learn is through observation and replication.  The library offers technical videos, career advice from experts, and documentaries to help support your education.  We also offer feature films if you are looking for a way to wind down after a long day.

Streaming Documentaries and Films

Technical & Educational Videos 

Some of the Library’s databases allow you to search exclusively for images, figures, or tables. Instructions for each database are included below. All databases may be accessed from the A-Z Databases page available on the top ribbon of the Library page. 

Gale

After running your search, click images.  Notice copyright information ill appear at the bottom of the image.

EBSCOhost

If searching in EBSCOhost hover over “More” in the top banner, then “Images”. Images will reveal two options—Image Quick View Collection and ISCTRC Image Collection. We recommend selecting Image Quick View Collection.  The Image Collection search screen appears. Enter your search terms in the search box. Under Search Options you may select a specific Image Type if applicable.

ProQuest

ProQuest allows you to search individually indexed visual data representations, such as charts, tables, illustrations, and other data-rich figures using the Figures & Tables search. The Figures & Tables search is the first link located under the Advanced Search heading.

Enter your search terms in the search box. Under Search Options you may select a specific Figure/table type if applicable.

Public Domain Images

Public domain images may be reproduced, altered and distributed without permission. This is because either because their copyright expired (and was not renewed), or because the author specifically released his/her images to the public domain. However, when using websites, it is important to check each image to make sure it is within the public domain and has no restrictions on its use. Some images may be used for educational purposes, but not commercially.

Additionally, materials that you use or download must cite the author/creator and the original source.

Sources can come in many formats.  The Internet holds many resources such as blogs, vlogs, wiki’s, RSS feeds, videos, audio files, photos, tweets, Facebook Pages, and many other types.  These can be a wealth of information for your research provided they are properly documented.

These sources will vary in reputation so make sure to evaluate your sources and contact your instructor to make sure they fit their standard.