Emergency Medical Services

One of 12 Federal government agencies within the Department of Health and Human Services that supports evidence base research that helps people make more informed decisions and improves the quality, safety, efficiency, and effectiveness of health care services.

AHRQ provides, through the National Guideline Clearinghouse (NGC) database, guidelines for clinical practice, information for continuing education, employment opportunities and grants.

The DSHS program regulates EMS and trauma systems in Texas. This website contains information about EMS certification and licensure, trauma designation, how to contact us and more.

The National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health (NCCIH) is the Federal Government’s lead agency for scientific research on the diverse medical and health care systems, practices, and products that are not generally considered part of conventional medicine. NCCIH was formerly known as the National Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine.

Biomedical library that delivers trillions bytes of data to millions of users every day. This government site is open to all and has many services and resources such as books, journals, manuscripts, audiovisuals, and other forms of medical information.

Through every change, the NREMT has remained steadfast in upholding its mission to provide a valid, uniform process to assess the knowledge and skills required for competent practice required by professionals throughout their careers and by maintaining a registry of certification status.

The Board: protects the public from unsafe nursing practice, provides approval for more than 200 nursing education programs, issues licenses to more than 27,000 nurses per year by examination to new graduates and by endorsement to licensees from other states seeking a Texas license, as well as providing nursing practice and education guidance to more than 350,000 currently licensed nurses practicing in the State of Texas.

The World Health Organization is the organization responsible for directing and coordinating matters having to do with health in the United Nations. WHO also guides health researchers, decides norms and standards, and provides leadership on other global health issues.

The American Journal of Preventative Medicine publishes articles focused on prevention research, teaching, practice, and policy.

One of the oldest publications of its kind, the Annals of the New York Academy of Sciences is a review article journal that covers myriad specialized areas of health and science.

The Annual Review of Public Health has covered significant advancements in the field of public health since 1980.

The Bulletin of the World Health Organization is an international Public Health journal with the majority of its attention focused on the health situations of developing countries.

The CDC is the government’s go-to site for all topics related to public health.

A wide range of public health services exists under the HHS roof.

HHS is the managing sponsor for this site, which concentrates solely on various flu pandemics and information.

The FDA is responsible for protecting the public health by assuring the safety, efficacy, and security of food, drugs and products.

NIH is an agency of the HHS and is the primary agency of the United States government responsible for biomedical and health-related research.

Nutrition.gov provides easy access to vetted food and nutrition information from across the federal government. It serves as a gateway to reliable information on nutrition, healthy eating, physical activity, and food safety for consumers.

“Provides accurate and independent information on more than 24,000 prescription drugs, over-the-counter medicines and natural products.” --From the Mission Statement

Offers information on dosage, generic, and veterinary drugs. Includes a utility that identifies pills by size, color, and imprint.

Lists information on medications by brand and generic drug names, offers details on supplements, includes pill and symptom identifiers.

Resources on a wide range of health topics selected from approximately 1,400 government and non-profit organizations where you can search or browse topics from A to Z

Audio of Heart Sounds & Murmurs from the University of Washington's Department of Medicine.

University of Michigan Health System's collection of diagrams and audio of heart sounds.

This website provides several types of learning resources for heart sounds, murmurs, and congenital abnormalities.

OSHA 3110/8 pgs.

OSHA 3249/100 pgs.

OSHA 3370/100 pgs.

OSHA 3317/24 pgs.

OSHA 3148/44 pgs.)

OSHA 3187

OSHA 3328/100 pgs.

OSHA 3162/36 pgs.